tr/patched gen trojan in several archives

PC problems/recommendations

Moderators: MichaelP, Tinka

Post Reply
User avatar
busybee
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 27
Joined: 25 Dec 2010 17:37
Location: France
Contact:

tr/patched gen trojan in several archives

Post by busybee » 11 Mar 2011 09:56

hello
a similar topic exists but it is older.
I can't play several custom levels on account of this trojan, found by avira free version. it refuses me access to the zip file even.
it has recently happened with thierry stoorne's holy grail and essgee's beyond the scion. (and another one I can't remember)

since i'd like to play these levels very much, could i ask the builders for a newer archive?
thanks to you essgee and thierry stoorne

busybee

User avatar
vimmers
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 11766
Joined: 15 Mar 2002 16:10
Location: denmark

Re: tr/patched gen trojan in several archives

Post by vimmers » 11 Mar 2011 11:03

just turn your virus scanner of
there are no viruses in the folders
its cos of the patched .exe u get warning
and u can say to your virus scanner to leave tr4.exe alone in your settings
i dont know avira
i use windows live essentials and that dosent say anything
i have also used other virus programs and they never said anything to tr4.exe

User avatar
busybee
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 27
Joined: 25 Dec 2010 17:37
Location: France
Contact:

Re: tr/patched gen trojan in several archives

Post by busybee » 11 Mar 2011 13:27

thanks vimmers. I'll do that, then.
the threat is documented there though, that's why I was feeling insecure about it.

http://www.avira.com/en/support-threats ... //tlang/en


busybee

User avatar
Blue43
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 1702
Joined: 06 Mar 2010 03:32
Location: Arizona

Re: tr/patched gen trojan in several archives

Post by Blue43 » 11 Mar 2011 16:53

Obviously Avira is mistaken the the TR tomb4.exe with a well know older Virus with a similar name. I have scanned all TR4 files with a AVAST, Malwarebytes and Windows Security Essential and they always checked out clean.

If Avira has the option add the tomb4.exe to the ignore list.
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests