How do you... Microsoft Defender?

PC problems/recommendations

Moderators: MichaelP, Tinka

Post Reply
User avatar
Jorge22
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 9797
Joined: 21 May 2003 04:26
Location: Portugal (Porto area)

How do you... Microsoft Defender?

Post by Jorge22 » 23 Mar 2019 12:30

Yeah. I just downloaded Tears of a Ptolomeic Dynasty and, well, a total, of 28 engines detect the exe as being malicious - and that includes Microsoft Defender (not Avast).

So, the question is: how do you add an exception in Microsoft Defender before it swallows the frigging exe? Please? Thank you.
Image

User avatar
Jorge22
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 9797
Joined: 21 May 2003 04:26
Location: Portugal (Porto area)

Re: How do you... Microsoft Defender?

Post by Jorge22 » 23 Mar 2019 12:40

Image

User avatar
Jorge22
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 9797
Joined: 21 May 2003 04:26
Location: Portugal (Porto area)

Re: How do you... Microsoft Defender?

Post by Jorge22 » 23 Mar 2019 12:47

And Malwarebytes quarantined it instead. Jesus! Excluded it is. I don't suppose there's an issue with this game...
Image

User avatar
Jorge22
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 9797
Joined: 21 May 2003 04:26
Location: Portugal (Porto area)

Re: How do you... Microsoft Defender?

Post by Jorge22 » 23 Mar 2019 12:51

Now I'm really puzzled...

If I double-click on play I get a box asking me how I want to open it (it says it's a .bin file) and if I want to look for some program to open it with at the Microsoft store.

And if I try to use the other exe that's provided, I get errors and crashes and a warning that there are files missing.

Anybody, please?
Image

User avatar
Jorge22
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 9797
Joined: 21 May 2003 04:26
Location: Portugal (Porto area)

Re: How do you... Microsoft Defender?

Post by Jorge22 » 23 Mar 2019 18:18

Somebody?
Image

User avatar
Jorge22
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 9797
Joined: 21 May 2003 04:26
Location: Portugal (Porto area)

Re: How do you... Microsoft Defender?

Post by Jorge22 » 23 Mar 2019 23:03

Ok then. I came across another thread (where I'd been and forgotten all about it) and I may be able to maybe solve it myself. Not today, maybe tomorrow. It's all good anyway, just a bloody game.

Still it was fun to post an entire thread on my own. :D
Image

User avatar
vimmers
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 11623
Joined: 15 Mar 2002 16:10
Location: denmark

Re: How do you... Microsoft Defender?

Post by vimmers » 24 Mar 2019 01:58

yea isn't it fun to find out stuff by yourself :D
that's how i learned most of what i know about pc
have you tried to unpack the game again

but there are a file there are named TofPDyn1.bin
but that's not the level file and i don't know what it does

to start the game you shall hit a file
named play.exe

User avatar
Jorge22
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 9797
Joined: 21 May 2003 04:26
Location: Portugal (Porto area)

Re: How do you... Microsoft Defender?

Post by Jorge22 » 24 Mar 2019 11:03

Well, yeah as long as you find what you're looking for. :D

I did delete the files and unzipped them again. Nothing done with the original play exe (weird to say the least) but it's now working with the alternative exe.
Image

User avatar
Dutchy
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 8845
Joined: 25 Feb 2002 14:09
Location: Istanbul (but I'm Dutch)
Contact:

Re: How do you... Microsoft Defender?

Post by Dutchy » 24 Mar 2019 21:01

Had no idea how to help you, so didn't respond to your request. I have Avast (sorry, Avira).
Last edited by Dutchy on 27 Apr 2019 11:45, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Jorge22
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 9797
Joined: 21 May 2003 04:26
Location: Portugal (Porto area)

Re: How do you... Microsoft Defender?

Post by Jorge22 » 24 Mar 2019 21:25

Yep but Avast has no issues with the 'play exe'. It was Defender and Malwarebytes among 28 engines.
The problem, after I excluded the folder from both, was the PC didn't recognize the exe as such. And for some obscure reason I couldn't start the game with the regular exe that came with the game.

But it's working now (the normal exe, not the main one), so all is good. :)
Image

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests