Feder - Templar Secrets

PC problems/recommendations

Moderators: MichaelP, Tinka

Post Reply
User avatar
bene
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 5699
Joined: 09 Dec 2002 19:45

Feder - Templar Secrets

Post by bene » 19 Oct 2018 18:16

Not sure where to post this but the first place I tried was locked.

Tried to go back to the game and opened a Save and the screen went black....could not get out of it and had to turn my PC off ....haven't had to do that in years.
Anyone one else having this problem and is there a fix?

User avatar
Jorge22
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 9540
Joined: 21 May 2003 04:26
Location: Portugal (Porto area)

Re: Feder - Templar Secrets

Post by Jorge22 » 19 Oct 2018 22:58

Are you per chance using Windows 10 (the only thing I could think of straight away)? Like maybe you're having some kind of compatibility issue? Or maybe your PC simply decided to make your life harder at that point and now the game will miraculously work in perfection.
Well, and something similar happened to me occasionally, like slots that simply stop working. It's just not that common and I still have no idea why.
I don't think any antivirus brand assumes TR3 files are dangerous and what not, so that shouldn't be the cause. If you want to check out what basically all antiviruses think of a given file, all you have to do is submit it to a site that has a program whose name I can't remember right now and unfortunately I'm not at home. Still, it's a great tool and I'll let you know the name as soon as I can (which won't be today). Could it be Virus Total or something? It might. It's used by antivirus companies, y'know...
Speaking of which, it could also be some kind of virus or trojan or rootkit or whichever malware. Maybe you should try and start by running Malwarebytes, then TSSD Killer (or something - it's a simple and quick anti-rootkit tool provided by Kaspersky; don't forget to check all the boxes) and finally run your antivirus on boot/reboot if it gives you that option or in safe mode with net if it doesn't.
It may not solve your problem but it'll make your computer safer.
Good luck, it's a great set of levels. :)

Add-on: that site I was telling you about... Yes, it's Virus Total. Bookmark it. Submit any file and it'll tell you what antivirus companies think about it - whether it's safe or if it's win32whatever or anything else depending on the company. It's perfectly safe (it was the Avast team that told me about it).
Image

User avatar
bene
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 5699
Joined: 09 Dec 2002 19:45

Re: Feder - Templar Secrets

Post by bene » 20 Oct 2018 20:03

thanks, Jorge....:)

User avatar
Jorge22
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 9540
Joined: 21 May 2003 04:26
Location: Portugal (Porto area)

Re: Feder - Templar Secrets

Post by Jorge22 » 20 Oct 2018 20:14

You're welcome. :)
Image

User avatar
Gerty
Mod
Mod
Posts: 9402
Joined: 28 Aug 2001 23:55
Location: Holland

Re: Feder - Templar Secrets

Post by Gerty » 20 Oct 2018 22:13

From the walkthrough:
To play the level on W8.1, I had to delete the config. folder from the download.
Oops, I did it again... Image

User avatar
bene
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 5699
Joined: 09 Dec 2002 19:45

Re: Feder - Templar Secrets

Post by bene » 21 Oct 2018 00:26

I'm playing on 10 and it was working fine till I got a black screen from a Save...

I have been having problems since I did a Dell backup....all my exe. from previous downloads disappeared so I tried this one and the exe. was there...but I have yet to try any others.

User avatar
Gerty
Mod
Mod
Posts: 9402
Joined: 28 Aug 2001 23:55
Location: Holland

Re: Feder - Templar Secrets

Post by Gerty » 21 Oct 2018 18:02

What you also can try is to rename or delete the PIX folder.
Can't help you out with the disappearing EXE.
Oops, I did it again... Image

jeff sadler
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 11
Joined: 25 Jul 2018 01:59
Location: London

Re: Feder - Templar Secrets

Post by jeff sadler » 31 Oct 2018 13:09

Good day
You may need to check that you are not running the Standard VGA graphics driver that window install at first time start up.
If the graphics are loaded Nvidia or ATi, etc,, There are many VGA graphic.
Try lowering the monitor screen to 640+480 32 bit, using the compatible setting or just use the monitor setting.
I always use the 640+480 32 bit setting to play custom levels.
Hope that is of help to you.
Happy raiding
Jeff Sadler

User avatar
vimmers
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 11385
Joined: 15 Mar 2002 16:10
Location: denmark

Re: Feder - Templar Secrets

Post by vimmers » 31 Oct 2018 13:50

bene wrote:
21 Oct 2018 00:26
I'm playing on 10 and it was working fine till I got a black screen from a Save...
your save still remember the config you had before backup
(i have self experienced that)
you need to start a new game with your new config
dunno how far into the game you was

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests