Why am I getting this directx error?

PC problems/recommendations

Moderator: Tinka

Post Reply
User avatar
SuzanneJack
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 7282
Joined: 02 Dec 2002 16:03
Location: IL USA

Why am I getting this directx error?

Post by SuzanneJack » 02 Jul 2018 19:55

All of the sudden I'm getting this error on all tr levels :? Anyone know why? I didn't know that you can not place a pic here.
Failed to setup Directx.

User avatar
Jorge22
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 9462
Joined: 21 May 2003 03:26
Location: Portugal (Porto area)

Re: Why am I getting this directx error?

Post by Jorge22 » 03 Jul 2018 11:37

Maybe you need to update your Direct X? I don't know. I'm guessing that may have something to do with Microsoft's updates. Oh well...
Image

User avatar
Mr XY
Member
Member
Posts: 963
Joined: 30 Jun 2006 16:59
Location: Heidelberg, Germany

Re: Why am I getting this directx error?

Post by Mr XY » 03 Jul 2018 17:01

Try to start the game from the setup. It should work after setting up the resolution again.
Image

User avatar
LoreRaider
Member
Member
Posts: 703
Joined: 11 Jan 2015 17:12
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Why am I getting this directx error?

Post by LoreRaider » 04 Jul 2018 10:49

As I wrote to you on another thread, the DirectX error is caused by using "Core Design MMX etc..." option in output settings of the setup, using the other, " Microsoft Hardware.." should fix the issue
Image

User avatar
SuzanneJack
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 7282
Joined: 02 Dec 2002 16:03
Location: IL USA

Re: Why am I getting this directx error?

Post by SuzanneJack » 10 Jul 2018 20:09

Actually, I system restore to an earlier date and all works now :? but :D

User avatar
LoreRaider
Member
Member
Posts: 703
Joined: 11 Jan 2015 17:12
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Why am I getting this directx error?

Post by LoreRaider » 13 Jul 2018 10:31

It's quite useless and annoying doing a restore system for a problem such as this one in my opinion
Image

User avatar
vimmers
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 11290
Joined: 15 Mar 2002 15:10
Location: denmark

Re: Why am I getting this directx error?

Post by vimmers » 14 Jul 2018 04:09

maybe she had other problems to
she didn't write here

jeff sadler
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: 25 Jul 2018 00:59
Location: London

Re: Why am I getting this directx error?

Post by jeff sadler » 13 Aug 2018 11:04

The fail to load DX, I found using the set up option in the Level Editor game, would solve this problem
However coping the new custom level files into the level editor game can also allow you to play the game, I have my working level editor and a second loaded for custom game play.
I have also now got an Linux drive that using the Wine software, I can play TR custom levels now on Linux system, however the lighting in game is set to full on.
Happy raiding Jeff Sadler

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest