Sound FX

PC problems/recommendations

Moderator: Tinka

Post Reply
User avatar
Dutchy
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 8165
Joined: 25 Feb 2002 13:09
Location: Istanbul (but I'm Dutch)
Contact:

Sound FX

Post by Dutchy » 18 Dec 2017 10:51

All of a sudden sound fx don't play anymore on my PC. Music, and the normal TR sounds like audio tracks play normal. But I cannot hear the pistols firing for instance. Also when I open a sound sample from a TR folder and play it in Media player, I cannot hear a thing

Anyone recognize this problem?

User avatar
vimmers
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 10761
Joined: 15 Mar 2002 15:10
Location: denmark

Re: Sound FX

Post by vimmers » 18 Dec 2017 16:31

have u maybe messed with the sound ingame
when u hit p
or options before u start a game
rgs vimmers
hit f5 often in the forum

User avatar
Dutchy
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 8165
Joined: 25 Feb 2002 13:09
Location: Istanbul (but I'm Dutch)
Contact:

Re: Sound FX

Post by Dutchy » 18 Dec 2017 19:45

Not only ingame, but also just playing the samples from a folder on desktop with mediaplayer or goldwave.. Could that also affect those?
And a solution to the cause you stated? Do the same again and reverse it?

User avatar
vimmers
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 10761
Joined: 15 Mar 2002 15:10
Location: denmark

Re: Sound FX

Post by vimmers » 18 Dec 2017 20:15

have u updated those mediaplayers lately
maybe u missing a codec
rgs vimmers
hit f5 often in the forum

User avatar
Dutchy
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 8165
Joined: 25 Feb 2002 13:09
Location: Istanbul (but I'm Dutch)
Contact:

Re: Sound FX

Post by Dutchy » 18 Dec 2017 21:34

They worked the day before...

User avatar
vimmers
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 10761
Joined: 15 Mar 2002 15:10
Location: denmark

Re: Sound FX

Post by vimmers » 19 Dec 2017 08:29

then have u installed something new
that can maybe cause the problem
rgs vimmers
hit f5 often in the forum

User avatar
Dutchy
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 8165
Joined: 25 Feb 2002 13:09
Location: Istanbul (but I'm Dutch)
Contact:

Re: Sound FX

Post by Dutchy » 19 Dec 2017 08:36

Well, for now all is working fine again. Don't ask me how...
After a problem with the boot sector a while back, they installed a fresh W8.1 for me, I failed to mention I wanted a Multi-language version so the OS could be in English. So now I have a Turkish language PC. Sometimes it is more luck than wisdom if I have to do something within the bowels of the PC... Time for a new PC :D

Thanks for the support Vimm. :2thumbsup:

User avatar
vimmers
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 10761
Joined: 15 Mar 2002 15:10
Location: denmark

Re: Sound FX

Post by vimmers » 19 Dec 2017 09:49

you can just download a language pack and change it to what u want
go to control panel and language (dil in Turkish i think)then hit dil ekle
rgs vimmers
hit f5 often in the forum

User avatar
Dutchy
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 8165
Joined: 25 Feb 2002 13:09
Location: Istanbul (but I'm Dutch)
Contact:

Re: Sound FX

Post by Dutchy » 19 Dec 2017 17:15

W 8.1 Single language, tried it before, doesn't work.
Can only change the keyboard language...

User avatar
vimmers
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 10761
Joined: 15 Mar 2002 15:10
Location: denmark

Re: Sound FX

Post by vimmers » 19 Dec 2017 17:48

several languages to chose from
but it's a reinstall of the win8,1
http://windowsiso.net/windows-8-1-iso/w ... -standard/
rgs vimmers
hit f5 often in the forum

User avatar
Dutchy
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 8165
Joined: 25 Feb 2002 13:09
Location: Istanbul (but I'm Dutch)
Contact:

Re: Sound FX

Post by Dutchy » 21 Dec 2017 16:59

Thanks for that link, yeah re-install. But I have no product key... They sell those pcs with windows installed and if you fail to get your key from the pc, you'll get those "you have to insert your product key" messages 5 times a day...
Maybe I'll try myself...

User avatar
vimmers
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 10761
Joined: 15 Mar 2002 15:10
Location: denmark

Re: Sound FX

Post by vimmers » 21 Dec 2017 20:09

usually the product key are on the case
but you can get the key
https://www.lifewire.com/how-to-find-yo ... ey-2626234
rgs vimmers
hit f5 often in the forum

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests