Why don't show pictures from the Pix folder in the game?

PC problems/recommendations

Moderators: MichaelP, Tinka

User avatar
LoreRaider
Member
Member
Posts: 713
Joined: 11 Jan 2015 18:12
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Why don't show pictures from the Pix folder in the game?

Post by LoreRaider » 08 Dec 2017 19:34

I know now seeing this topic :-P
@TombTitan: actually, the image on pix folder it's not corrupted, but crypted, which is another thing, it's for avoiding that someone stoles stuff from levels, in fact I've crypted script and .tr4 files as well
And I have Windows 10 and in every computer I tried playing my level, the pix works like a charm :)
Image

User avatar
Teone
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 1407
Joined: 16 Mar 2017 16:59
Location: Italy

Re: Why don't show pictures from the Pix folder in the game?

Post by Teone » 08 Jul 2019 17:52

I have the Pix Folder problem with my new notebook.
I think the problem is the screen resolution (1920x1080).
With the old notebook (1366x768) the Pix Folder works fine.

I tried to disable anti-aliasing (as suggested by @agentpat in the previous page) but nothing happen. I have an Intel Graphic Card.

Is there someone here with a screen 1920x1080 who can test games such TR Redemption by MagPlus or King Arthur Project, and tell me if the Pix Folder works in your end?

Anyway... in HyperSquare the Pix Folder works even in 1920x1080 resolution! I don't know why in other games don't. :?

User avatar
vimmers
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 11656
Joined: 15 Mar 2002 16:10
Location: denmark

Re: Why don't show pictures from the Pix folder in the game?

Post by vimmers » 08 Jul 2019 21:31

Teone wrote:
08 Jul 2019 17:52
I have the Pix Folder problem with my new notebook.
I think the problem is the screen resolution (1920x1080).
With the old notebook (1366x768) the Pix Folder works fine.

I tried to disable anti-aliasing (as suggested by @agentpat in the previous page) but nothing happen. I have an Intel Graphic Card.

Is there someone here with a screen 1920x1080 who can test games such TR Redemption by MagPlus or King Arthur Project, and tell me if the Pix Folder works in your end?

Anyway... in HyperSquare the Pix Folder works even in 1920x1080 resolution! I don't know why in other games don't. :?
have you tried this
vimmers wrote:
02 Dec 2017 16:08
you can try this, it's from another thread where i tried to help
vimmers wrote:
22 Sep 2017 01:35
try to go to control panel system advanced system configuration performance
and play around with the settings
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d6MXFAWeMtU
i have myself ticked let windows choose best config for your pc

User avatar
Teone
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 1407
Joined: 16 Mar 2017 16:59
Location: Italy

Re: Why don't show pictures from the Pix folder in the game?

Post by Teone » 09 Jul 2019 00:30

Yes, I tried but it's not a performance problem. I have a lot of free memory.

Anyway, to better describe the problem: for example, when I press F6 to load a save... the game freeze like paused but the menu remains in the background. I can hear the item sound using the arrow keys and I can even load a save but it's a blind action because the menu is not visible. It works but it's not visible.

It works (visibly) only in windowed mode, but I don't like to play windowed. I prefer to rename the folder and use the standard load/save screen. The bad thing is that I can't use the Diary in this way. :(

Only in HyperSquare the Pix folder works properly also in full screen. But we know.... psiko is the best builder ever.

User avatar
JesseG
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 1109
Joined: 10 Mar 2006 21:33
Location: Connecticut, USA

Re: Why don't show pictures from the Pix folder in the game?

Post by JesseG » 09 Jul 2019 00:46

If the level uses NGLE, try toggling between versions 1.2.2.6 and 1.2.2.7. I don't know which version that level uses, but for some people, switching from the older .dll file to the newer one works, and for others it is the opposite. This fixes the black screen problem for me usually.

You can download from here: http://www.trlevelmanager.eu/ng.htm

User avatar
Teone
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 1407
Joined: 16 Mar 2017 16:59
Location: Italy

Re: Why don't show pictures from the Pix folder in the game?

Post by Teone » 09 Jul 2019 01:00

I tried to replace the file "Tomb_NextGeneration.dll" in TR Redemption (version 1.2.2.6) with the one in HyperSquare (version 1.3.0.8 ). Initially the problem seemd to be solved. The load/save menu showed up correctly, but then the game crashed pressing the ESC button.

Witch are exactly the files I have to replace? Only that DLL or else?
And where to find them? In the link you gave me I can't find it.

EDIT: I find version 1.2.2.7 in The Dragon Pearl by Ranpyon. I tried that DLL in TR Redemption but very weird things happened and the game crash. :(
and BTW, in The Dragon Pearl game itself the Pix Folder works fine, so it seems that my PC don't like NGLE version 1.2.2.6

User avatar
vimmers
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 11656
Joined: 15 Mar 2002 16:10
Location: denmark

Re: Why don't show pictures from the Pix folder in the game?

Post by vimmers » 09 Jul 2019 16:05

downloaded and installed the game
and got this message in the dos window
The game is better displayed
at 1280x960 32bits in window mode
********************************************
also i installed it as windows 8

try that resolution in fullscreen mode

User avatar
Teone
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 1407
Joined: 16 Mar 2017 16:59
Location: Italy

Re: Why don't show pictures from the Pix folder in the game?

Post by Teone » 09 Jul 2019 19:42

I tried all possibly resolutions but the Pix folder works only in windowed mode.
I repeat: This problem occurs only in games build with NGLE 1.2.2.6
Changing the DLL is not a solution because EXE, DLL and DAT files are in some way linked.
Never mind. Thanks for the help. It's a NGLE problem.

User avatar
Mehrbod
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 62
Joined: 24 May 2018 20:03
Location: Tehran, Persia
Contact:

Re: Why don't show pictures from the Pix folder in the game?

Post by Mehrbod » 10 Jul 2019 15:41

What about playing around with the "Emergency" settings of TOMB4.EXE???

Image
Image

Egypt has many secrets and mysteries yet to be discovered ... :)

User avatar
Teone
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 1407
Joined: 16 Mar 2017 16:59
Location: Italy

Re: Why don't show pictures from the Pix folder in the game?

Post by Teone » 11 Jul 2019 12:16

Already suggested... but nope. It doesn't help.
Never mind. I can live without Pix folder.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests