Setup/graphics card problem

PC problems/recommendations

Moderators: MichaelP, Tinka

Post Reply
Yez
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 23
Joined: 18 Mar 2003 11:00

Setup/graphics card problem

Post by Yez » 24 Jul 2013 11:48

I am returning to TRLE after a long absence and have forgotten how to do a lot of things! The problem I am having seems to be with my setup or graphics card settings. When I first installed my game (Crystal Skulls I) it worked fine, but after disabling screen rotation on my graphics card, something else seems to have been changed and now the game is either not showing some textures or is very dark for some other reason.

I am running Windows XP with Dual 2.2 GHz Intel COre2 Duo T7500, Intel Graphics Media Accelerator Driver for Mobile.

Can anyone help me with where I've gone wrong? Enabling the screen rotation didn't solve the problem. Thanks!!!

image of various setups:
Image

User avatar
vimmers
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 11735
Joined: 15 Mar 2002 16:10
Location: denmark

Re: Setup/graphics card problem

Post by vimmers » 24 Jul 2013 17:00

i can't help you i think

but first of all your graphic settings in the tomb raider settings shall be the same as you use on the desktop
i see its 1280x800
then use software mode not hardware mode

Yez
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 23
Joined: 18 Mar 2003 11:00

Re: Setup/graphics card problem

Post by Yez » 25 Jul 2013 09:20

Thanks Vimmers!

User avatar
snork
Chatterbox
Chatterbox
Posts: 4195
Joined: 02 Feb 2006 11:10
Location: northern Germany, baltic coast line

Re: Setup/graphics card problem

Post by snork » 25 Jul 2013 11:38

Yez wrote: now the game is either not showing some textures
I had that once on my old box and the way to solve it was to uninstall the newest driver for my old graphics card (nvidia), and use an older driver - the one on the CD that came with it (Asus).
so maybe try updating the intel GMA driver, and maybe also (re-) install DirectX (9)
-------------------------------

Else I would choose game settings :

1200x800 16bit (32bit can give ugly stripes in game menus)

16bit RGBA 5551 textures bitdepth

For many levels nowadays you can check "widescreen". When available the option is next to "windowed"

Render options:

hardware acceleration (software rendering only when nothing else helps.)

most games want "Volumetric FX" checked, if not they should say so in the readme.

same for Bump Mapping

---------------------------

Never ever cancel the setup or it gets set back to factory defaults. It then also sets back all in-game options (keyboard / gamepad control configuration etc.)

Good luck.
Thou shall not mess with Lara's resting animation. NEVER. EVER!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest