TRLE on Windows 8

PC problems/recommendations

Moderator: Tinka

User avatar
bene
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 5677
Joined: 09 Dec 2002 18:45

Re: TRLE on Windows 8

Post by bene » 08 May 2015 14:12

thanks Crazyboy

I set it at Service Pack 3 yesterday and it didn't work but at least I got a screen although it was distorted.....a small improvement.
Trying with another level today.

User avatar
bene
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 5677
Joined: 09 Dec 2002 18:45

Re: TRLE on Windows 8

Post by bene » 08 May 2015 15:06

nothing has worked
tried to get into setup tomb4 and can't as there is no path to it!

maybe I will try the patch I saw in another post
grrrrr


2nd patch hangs....
back to zero ideas

User avatar
vimmers
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 10525
Joined: 15 Mar 2002 15:10
Location: denmark

Re: TRLE on Windows 8

Post by vimmers » 09 May 2015 15:24

bene
TombTitan wrote:Jenni,
You do not need the original setup file or anybody else's. Simply right-click the tomb4.exe file of the Icy Paradise level and choose "create shortcut". Now right-click that shortcut and select properties. Edit the target line to:

"..........\tomb4.exe" -setup

(The dots above should be the actual location of the tomb4.exe file such as K:\games\icyparadise\tomb4.exe" or whatever it is on your computer.)

Now the saved edited shortcut should be run to open the setup screen. This does work.

P.S. If you use the original level editor setup program or one from another level, then the target line in the properties will address the location of the tomb4.exe of the level editor or another custom level which is probably why you are getting location error messages. If you make a new shortcut for the tomb4.exe of Icy Paradise, then the target line in the properties of the shortcut will address only the tomb4.exe file of Icy Paradise.
rgs vimmers
hit f5 often in the forum

User avatar
bene
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 5677
Joined: 09 Dec 2002 18:45

Re: TRLE on Windows 8

Post by bene » 11 May 2015 14:45

I am waiting for our family PC expert to come and fix everything I managed to mess up while trying to fix this problem and then I can download and install the trle and start over.
Have to wait but, hopefully, he can fix it.

I did learn a few things along the way: because 8.1 has directx already installed, trle has to be installed manually and directx has to be unclicked
and that all trle files have to be deleted before a new install.

Now, if I can manage not to continue on my own (and mess it up worse than it already is) I may end up playing tr again.
But I don't know if I can do that....I already want to re-try on my own....certain doom, that!......LOL :)

Phil
Mod
Mod
Posts: 4829
Joined: 12 Apr 2002 22:57
Location: Charlotte, NC, USA

Re: TRLE on Windows 8

Post by Phil » 11 May 2015 17:25

bene wrote:Now, if I can manage not to continue on my own (and mess it up worse than it already is) I may end up playing tr again. But I don't know if I can do that....I already want to re-try on my own....certain doom, that!......LOL :)
Proverbs 19:2, 21:5 and 22:3 come to mind.

User avatar
bene
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 5677
Joined: 09 Dec 2002 18:45

Re: TRLE on Windows 8

Post by bene » 12 May 2015 02:19

PDLambeth wrote:
bene wrote:Now, if I can manage not to continue on my own (and mess it up worse than it already is) I may end up playing tr again. But I don't know if I can do that....I already want to re-try on my own....certain doom, that!......LOL :)
Proverbs 19:2, 21:5 and 22:3 come to mind.

I'm still laughing....too funny and so appropriate.
:hammer:

User avatar
bene
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 5677
Joined: 09 Dec 2002 18:45

Re: TRLE on Windows 8

Post by bene » 20 May 2015 14:21

Done and sorted....but I think, after too many years away, I should have eased into a more player-friendly level... :-o :D

User avatar
Dutchy
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 7832
Joined: 25 Feb 2002 13:09
Location: Istanbul (but I'm Dutch)
Contact:

Re: TRLE on Windows 8

Post by Dutchy » 13 Jun 2015 22:10

All of a sudden I am having problems with playing windowed, if I check the windowed box in setup, the game stays on the taskbar.
In windows 8.1 you get a small window if you go over the icon with the mouse pointer, the game is active there, sound is there, I can even play in that small window. But it doesn't want to go to a full screen window.
Then I play normal, "not windowed" and use the windows key to go to desktop, the game minimalizes normally. But when I click the icon on the taskbar to bring the game back up, the screen goes black. So that's also no option.
Image


Anyone seen this before? I know all the settings to play games on W8.1, been doing that for about 2 years now without problems.
When the game is minimalized on the taskbar and I click the tomb4.exe option I get this message
Image
But those files are there because I can play fullscreen??? :?

zodiac_666
Member
Member
Posts: 599
Joined: 16 Feb 2007 08:23

Re: TRLE on Windows 8

Post by zodiac_666 » 22 Jul 2015 11:48

I got that message too. I set the tomb.exe to windows xp service pack 3 compatibility mode and all I get is a black screen and that message comes up leaving me having to restart the pc.

User avatar
vimmers
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 10525
Joined: 15 Mar 2002 15:10
Location: denmark

Re: TRLE on Windows 8

Post by vimmers » 22 Jul 2015 13:35

now i don't know win 8+8,1
but why do you restart pc when you can close a program in task manager
http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/wind ... sk-manager
rgs vimmers
hit f5 often in the forum

zodiac_666
Member
Member
Posts: 599
Joined: 16 Feb 2007 08:23

Re: TRLE on Windows 8

Post by zodiac_666 » 05 Aug 2015 14:28

Hi when I tried to uplaod a new game from ORC series I got this full screen and then it crashed. I have set it to windows xp com 3 but it doesnt help. Why is it so hard to play TR games on Windows 8.1?

Image

Can anyone help?

User avatar
LoreRaider
Member
Member
Posts: 508
Joined: 11 Jan 2015 17:12
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: TRLE on Windows 8

Post by LoreRaider » 06 Aug 2015 18:02

zodiac_666 wrote:Hi when I tried to uplaod a new game from ORC series I got this full screen and then it crashed. I have set it to windows xp com 3 but it doesnt help. Why is it so hard to play TR games on Windows 8.1?

Image

Can anyone help?
So hard? Me i haven't problems :anxious: , try to change in setup something, run Tomb4.exe and click CTRL button to change
Image

zodiac_666
Member
Member
Posts: 599
Joined: 16 Feb 2007 08:23

Re: TRLE on Windows 8

Post by zodiac_666 » 06 Aug 2015 22:03

I tried compatibility mode service pack 3 and that happened, when I tried other modes it was even worse. I think I have played my last TR game from here for a while at least :|

Is there a windows 8.1 patch?

User avatar
rufierto
Member
Member
Posts: 474
Joined: 02 Jul 2011 23:22
Location: Lubbock, Texas

Re: TRLE on Windows 8

Post by rufierto » 06 Aug 2015 22:25

If I have problems , it is running levels from the download folder, if that is the case , move it to the desktop.
Rescue Dutchy!!!!

zodiac_666
Member
Member
Posts: 599
Joined: 16 Feb 2007 08:23

Re: TRLE on Windows 8

Post by zodiac_666 » 07 Aug 2015 00:20

No I tried that and it was still the same sadly

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests