WINDOWS VISTA

PC problems/recommendations

Moderators: MichaelP, Tinka

User avatar
quarrystile
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 1184
Joined: 05 Nov 2006 13:18
Location: My own little world, Lara, me and a couple of baddies UK

WINDOWS VISTA

Post by quarrystile » 10 Mar 2007 19:31

Hi all

I have installed Windows Vista ( home premium ) ( snob :-P )

I AM expecting compatability problems with a few programs. ( already had some ) I will list those ones below.

I am just wondering has anyone else installed it yet. I can NOT get TR Level Manager to run. ( I have tried it in compatability mode for XP, no luck ) Files missing or not registered.

So, the things that work so far are as follows.

Tomb Level Editor Tutorial Level, works. Did NOT even need XP game patches
AVG antivirus, had a minor glitch, but on the second install attempt it went in.
Fraps, Straight in, no problems.
RealTek sound card drivers
VIA/S3G UniChrome Pro IGP 3G Graphics drivers, installed, but had to go through "update drivers" in device manager and browse to CD. Would not run directly from "setup" on CD


Things NOT working.......

As I said,

TR Level Manager ( see above )
Saitek P2600 Gamepad Programming Software, The drivers went in fine. All the buttons work, but no picture of the controller in the profile editor. ( may be worth a look on Saitek Website for Vista drivers though )


I have not installed much yet, as I knew I may have problems and I did not want to spend a day installing heaps of stuff only to have to re-format and revert back to XP.

So....... anyone else having probs? If so it might be helpful if any fixes you found could be posted here
Image

User avatar
quarrystile
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 1184
Joined: 05 Nov 2006 13:18
Location: My own little world, Lara, me and a couple of baddies UK

Post by quarrystile » 10 Mar 2007 21:50

Just recieved this from Simulation @ tombraiderforums.com


Any game or application that uses OpenGL will run like a slug. The drivers are not ready.

McAfee VirusScan 8 will not install (Vista actually warns you not to install this product)

I advice would be to leave Vista alone for at least 6 months to a year minimum
Image

User avatar
chrimajon
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 1370
Joined: 04 Nov 2006 18:12
Location: Nottingham,UK

Post by chrimajon » 10 Mar 2007 22:01

phew..I can spend my Vista system savings on car toys then.. :lol:

..seriously,I thought you'd get some solid advice off TRF,Mike :D

QRS
Admin
Admin
Posts: 4720
Joined: 29 Mar 2005 15:37

Post by QRS » 11 Mar 2007 00:04

The level manager will not run on windows vista. Paolone has done a patch for it that he will release when he has time. He sent it to me and it works like a charm :2thumbsup: I can send it to you if you wish but it will take some time..as I have opened that PC it to change a lot of hardware things (to make it more suitable for vista hehe) and I have not put it together yet hehe. If you are in a hurry, try sending a PM to Paolone :wink:

I was surprised to see that the level editor ran as good as earlier btw. No problems at all!
Currently playing: Babylon Is Fallen

User avatar
quarrystile
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 1184
Joined: 05 Nov 2006 13:18
Location: My own little world, Lara, me and a couple of baddies UK

Post by quarrystile » 11 Mar 2007 09:57

Qrs, :D
Paolone has already released his patch " patchtrlm14revc " get it from the usual places.

You may have mis-read or mis-understood my initial post, " Tomb Level Editor Tutorial Level, works. Did NOT even need XP game patches "
I meant the game , NOT the editor. I have not tried the editor. :blush:
Image

User avatar
SuzanneJack
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 7712
Joined: 02 Dec 2002 17:03
Location: IL USA

Post by SuzanneJack » 03 Apr 2007 17:22

He released a patch???? :2thumbsup: :2thumbsup:

What I get out of this is that vista has visual basic 7 and level manager is 6.

Thank you Sweet paolo :2thumbsup:

User avatar
SuzanneJack
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 7712
Joined: 02 Dec 2002 17:03
Location: IL USA

Post by SuzanneJack » 05 Apr 2007 13:15

Where can I find this patch? I don't see it on his site.

QRS
Admin
Admin
Posts: 4720
Joined: 29 Mar 2005 15:37

Post by QRS » 05 Apr 2007 14:24

SuzanneJack wrote:Where can I find this patch? I don't see it on his site.
It is the C2 patch:

http://www.trlevelmanager.it/download_eng.htm
Currently playing: Babylon Is Fallen

User avatar
Jorge22
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 9902
Joined: 21 May 2003 04:26
Location: Portugal (Porto area)

Post by Jorge22 » 05 Apr 2007 18:30

From what I heard, you can't even download files from sites such as limewire, for example, using Vista. Is it true? If it is, then it's a lot of trash.
Image

User avatar
SuzanneJack
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 7712
Joined: 02 Dec 2002 17:03
Location: IL USA

Post by SuzanneJack » 06 Apr 2007 13:38

QRS wrote:
SuzanneJack wrote:Where can I find this patch? I don't see it on his site.
It is the C2 patch:

http://www.trlevelmanager.it/download_eng.htm
Thank you QRS :2thumbsup:

User avatar
SuzanneJack
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 7712
Joined: 02 Dec 2002 17:03
Location: IL USA

Post by SuzanneJack » 09 Apr 2007 16:52

I still can't install Level Manager :angry: I get a message and I'm trying to print screen to show you the message, but when I go to paint, paste is not an option. Vista is killing me. Any help would be greatfull. I did the dl above.

OK I figured out the print screen..fn+printscreen, but when I resize it you can't read the message anyway

User avatar
chrimajon
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 1370
Joined: 04 Nov 2006 18:12
Location: Nottingham,UK

Post by chrimajon » 09 Apr 2007 21:41

Suz honey..just go back to XP :) ..Vista isn't sorted well enough yet,not to mention the fact that third party vendors are still playing catch-up as regards drivers,etc;..

QRS
Admin
Admin
Posts: 4720
Joined: 29 Mar 2005 15:37

Post by QRS » 09 Apr 2007 22:31

I must say that I'm not in awe of Vista either actually. Sure some new features, cool look etc...but it is so damn buggy and not very compatible...also the main reason I installed it was for having a better core...but due to all bugs, I think i will wait at least 6-12 months before I use it again. Back to xp :2thumbsup:

Fun trying it though :D
Currently playing: Babylon Is Fallen

User avatar
SuzanneJack
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 7712
Joined: 02 Dec 2002 17:03
Location: IL USA

Post by SuzanneJack » 10 Apr 2007 14:56

The only problem is it's a new notebook that came with vista :( I guess I'll be raiding on the home computer only.

User avatar
huif
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 63
Joined: 06 Feb 2005 10:04
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by huif » 30 Apr 2007 07:54

It's the same here, i also bought a notebook that came with vista, i can install trlm, applied the "patch" revision c", but still can't play custom levels so .......trlm still doesn't work with vista

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests