Problem with Bigfoot's Tears of a Ptolemaic Dynasty

PC problems/recommendations

Moderators: MichaelP, Tinka

Post Reply
User avatar
Luisa
Member
Member
Posts: 238
Joined: 02 Nov 2015 18:29

Problem with Bigfoot's Tears of a Ptolemaic Dynasty

Post by Luisa » 10 Feb 2019 20:38

When I click the Play.exe my default video software opens and says it failed to read the video format "unfd" and the actual game never opens.
Image
⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁NOW OPEN⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁

User avatar
Gerty
Mod
Mod
Posts: 9460
Joined: 28 Aug 2001 23:55
Location: Holland

Re: Problem with Bigfoot's Tears of a Ptolemaic Dynasty

Post by Gerty » 10 Feb 2019 21:39

Can't help you but for others who might help you it is helpfull if you tell what computer you are having and which windows you are using.

I use still the old Windows XP and the opening video works fine, I only cannot use the note book (PIX folder).
Oops, I did it again... Image

User avatar
Luisa
Member
Member
Posts: 238
Joined: 02 Nov 2015 18:29

Re: Problem with Bigfoot's Tears of a Ptolemaic Dynasty

Post by Luisa » 10 Feb 2019 21:54

I use Windows 10, 64bit, on a Dell Laptop with Intel Core processer of 2.70GHz
Image
⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁NOW OPEN⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁

User avatar
vimmers
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 11506
Joined: 15 Mar 2002 16:10
Location: denmark

Re: Problem with Bigfoot's Tears of a Ptolemaic Dynasty

Post by vimmers » 10 Feb 2019 22:58

i have a weaker laptop then you Luisa but also win10/64 acer
and have no problem with starting the level
try this first tha same goes for you Gerty
vimmers wrote:
02 Dec 2017 16:08
you can try this, it's from another thread where i tried to help
vimmers wrote:
22 Sep 2017 01:35
try to go to control panel system advanced system configuration performance
and play around with the settings
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d6MXFAWeMtU
i have myself ticked let windows choose best config for your pc
and have you tried to run a new setup
hit ctrl when you start the game

User avatar
Doggett D. McDogg
Member
Member
Posts: 118
Joined: 06 Jul 2018 15:01
Location: Italy

Re: Problem with Bigfoot's Tears of a Ptolemaic Dynasty

Post by Doggett D. McDogg » 11 Feb 2019 06:17

I replaced the EXE file with that of Tomb Raider: Anniversary II - Definitive Demo. It works perfectly without bugs. ^^

User avatar
Jorge22
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 9651
Joined: 21 May 2003 04:26
Location: Portugal (Porto area)

Re: Problem with Bigfoot's Tears of a Ptolemaic Dynasty

Post by Jorge22 » 11 Feb 2019 10:56

I also have Windows 10 64 bits and I found myself in the same situation in which it seems to be better to simply disable the FMVs unles I want to get a black screen or something. Oh well... I almost always find them too long and distracting, anyway.
Image

User avatar
vimmers
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 11506
Joined: 15 Mar 2002 16:10
Location: denmark

Re: Problem with Bigfoot's Tears of a Ptolemaic Dynasty

Post by vimmers » 11 Feb 2019 12:29

there are none fmvs in this levelset
i think it's the Tomb_NextGeneration.dll there cause it
when i have played some time
and reloaded a save the game start to be slow motion
and have to restart the game

User avatar
Dutchy
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 8764
Joined: 25 Feb 2002 14:09
Location: Istanbul (but I'm Dutch)
Contact:

Re: Problem with Bigfoot's Tears of a Ptolemaic Dynasty

Post by Dutchy » 11 Feb 2019 16:08

Just replace the exe with an original exe, should work fine..

User avatar
Jorge22
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 9651
Joined: 21 May 2003 04:26
Location: Portugal (Porto area)

Re: Problem with Bigfoot's Tears of a Ptolemaic Dynasty

Post by Jorge22 » 11 Feb 2019 18:00

Ok then. So I thought it could be something else and made a mistake. Sorry. :)
Image

TombTitan
Member
Member
Posts: 542
Joined: 05 Jan 2012 08:11

Re: Problem with Bigfoot's Tears of a Ptolemaic Dynasty

Post by TombTitan » 11 Feb 2019 22:24

In the second level "Crash in the Desert", I was taking the third cog back to where it is used and went to save the game. The game crashed and MalwareBytes said it had stopped the program to prevent a ransomware virus threat caused by Bigfoot's file TofPdyn1.bin of this game. The file was not removed. I was able to restart the game.

However, this is suspicious because I am playing the game on a computer that is physically not connected to the internet. There may be something problematic with the internal code of Bigfoot's files that he is unaware of.

Also, the game slows down horribly after several reloads and it is necessary to quit the game and restart to clear the memory. This is the same problem that affected Ice Age 2, Hypersquare 2, and other levels caused by the NGLE executable. It would be nice if builders would cease doing timed runs, dangerous jumps or such if they insist on using this bad executable.

User avatar
Luisa
Member
Member
Posts: 238
Joined: 02 Nov 2015 18:29

Re: Problem with Bigfoot's Tears of a Ptolemaic Dynasty

Post by Luisa » 12 Feb 2019 02:20

TombTitan wrote:
11 Feb 2019 22:24
In the second level "Crash in the Desert", I was taking the third cog back to where it is used and went to save the game. The game crashed and MalwareBytes said it had stopped the program to prevent a ransomware virus threat caused by Bigfoot's file TofPdyn1.bin of this game. The file was not removed. I was able to restart the game.

However, this is suspicious because I am playing the game on a computer that is physically not connected to the internet. There may be something problematic with the internal code of Bigfoot's files that he is unaware of.
It's really odd, because this is the very same file that is causing me troubles. I was about to try Doggett's solution, but now I think it's best to wait if the builder would release a un-bugged version of the game without this file (which is apparently an FMV and, therefore, not necessary to the actual gameplay), for safety.
Image
⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁NOW OPEN⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁⦁

User avatar
Jorge22
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 9651
Joined: 21 May 2003 04:26
Location: Portugal (Porto area)

Re: Problem with Bigfoot's Tears of a Ptolemaic Dynasty

Post by Jorge22 » 12 Feb 2019 09:34

Suspicious files...

I hate to say 'I told you so' but I've been telling you so for ages.

And I don't think it can be some anti-trle conspiracy. I also don't think antiviruses are simply stupid.

Fix it, darn it.
Image

Phil
Mod
Mod
Posts: 5335
Joined: 12 Apr 2002 23:57
Location: Charlotte, NC, USA

Re: Problem with Bigfoot's Tears of a Ptolemaic Dynasty

Post by Phil » 12 Feb 2019 16:22

PedroTheGamer's latest "creation" (now deleted) suffered from an extreme case of Download Bloat Syndrome (335MB or so), which included an FMV that didn't play in my game. I appreciate builders' artistic efforts, but to me FMVs - even when they do play - are usually a distraction and an annoyance that add nothing to my enjoyment of or appreciation for the level. If they cause additional problems with antivirus programs (and I understand from vimmers' post that there are no FMVs in Bigfoot's level), their use should be shunned.

User avatar
BigFoot
Member
Member
Posts: 830
Joined: 20 Dec 2010 22:19
Location: France

Re: Problem with Bigfoot's Tears of a Ptolemaic Dynasty

Post by BigFoot » 12 Feb 2019 16:31

I everyone.
I send a new version to Michael with an alternative tomb4.exe.
It's just a classic one of trng. I don't use FLEP.
Image

User avatar
SuzanneJack
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 7427
Joined: 02 Dec 2002 17:03
Location: IL USA

Re: Problem with Bigfoot's Tears of a Ptolemaic Dynasty

Post by SuzanneJack » 13 Feb 2019 00:54

Doggett D. McDogg wrote:
11 Feb 2019 06:17
I replaced the EXE file with that of Tomb Raider: Anniversary II - Definitive Demo. It works perfectly without bugs. ^^
Can you post this file? Hang on I just read all the posts.

No I can't open it on win 10 :cry: Unless I have the link to the above :?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest