Help! I can't run it on Win 10!

PC problems/recommendations

Moderators: MichaelP, Tinka

User avatar
Jorge22
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 9673
Joined: 21 May 2003 04:26
Location: Portugal (Porto area)

Re: Help! I can't run it on Win 10!

Post by Jorge22 » 11 Jan 2019 18:29

Avast ate it and never gave it back. Like some magic trick! :-o

I actually don't know what 4 k is, sorry. But I can tell you it was a HP Pavilion 23 xi (23 inches) with a VGA connection. This one is a HP 22 f (22 inches) with a HDMI connection. That's all I can say. Wait, I can also tell you I think there are newer 23 xi models but mine was a few years old already.
Image

User avatar
Jorge22
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 9673
Joined: 21 May 2003 04:26
Location: Portugal (Porto area)

Re: Help! I can't run it on Win 10!

Post by Jorge22 » 11 Jan 2019 18:55

It now tells me "Failed to setup DirectX". My PC, according to the diagnostic tool told me it had DirectX 12. Still, if I searched for it in the search space nothing would appear for DirectX. So, I downloaded it from Microsoft's page. It still can't find it within the search function and I still get that message if I try to start the game. It's a mess. Maybe someone can make some sense out of it...

Yes. Dxdiag tells me there is DirectX 12 and that there are no issues. Weird, I think.
Image

User avatar
vimmers
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 11513
Joined: 15 Mar 2002 16:10
Location: denmark

Re: Help! I can't run it on Win 10!

Post by vimmers » 11 Jan 2019 20:13

there is a thread about DirectX
and have you looked in tombraiderforums
for solutions

User avatar
Jorge22
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 9673
Joined: 21 May 2003 04:26
Location: Portugal (Porto area)

Re: Help! I can't run it on Win 10!

Post by Jorge22 » 11 Jan 2019 21:28

Hmm... Never saw it. I may have checked diagonally but I'm not a member. I just performed google searches.

Sent from my cell phone/mobile etc.

------------

Didn't remember that thread, sorry.
Image

User avatar
vimmers
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 11513
Joined: 15 Mar 2002 16:10
Location: denmark

Re: Help! I can't run it on Win 10!

Post by vimmers » 12 Jan 2019 03:03

http://forum.trle.net/search.php?keywords=DirectX
not sure about you can see this
https://www.tombraiderforums.com/search ... id=1993912

you should also try to update drivers from this page
if you haven't done it
i suppose that it was
this pc you bought https://www.worten.pt/informatica/compu ... np-6629348
that's where the this link goes to
https://support.hp.com/my-en/drivers/se ... l/22296875

another thing if you don't have a graphic card in the pc
can you then use it with a monitor
aka are there a slot for the monitor
like a hdmi or dvi
then you shall probably turn of the onboard graphic in bios

User avatar
Jorge22
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 9673
Joined: 21 May 2003 04:26
Location: Portugal (Porto area)

Re: Help! I can't run it on Win 10!

Post by Jorge22 » 12 Jan 2019 12:51

@ vimmers and Jeff: thank you so much for all the help you've provided.

Quote from Lore Raider (on the other thread): "As I wrote to you on another thread, the DirectX error is caused by using "Core Design MMX etc..." option in output settings of the setup, using the other, " Microsoft Hardware.." should fix the issue"

Case solved. It now works. Now, why don't these things come with a tutorial? Lol.

Many thanks again. We're a communty and we help each other, that's how it must be. Thank you. :2thumbsup:
Image

User avatar
vimmers
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 11513
Joined: 15 Mar 2002 16:10
Location: denmark

Re: Help! I can't run it on Win 10!

Post by vimmers » 12 Jan 2019 16:10

:2thumbsup: :2thumbsup: :2thumbsup:

User avatar
Jorge22
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 9673
Joined: 21 May 2003 04:26
Location: Portugal (Porto area)

Re: Help! I can't run it on Win 10!

Post by Jorge22 » 12 Jan 2019 19:46

Yep! :)
Image

User avatar
Jay
Chatterbox
Chatterbox
Posts: 3851
Joined: 14 Mar 2003 12:13
Location: Davenport, Cheshire, England

Re: Help! I can't run it on Win 10!

Post by Jay » 03 Mar 2019 16:11

Thank you, thank you, thank you for this thread. I've just switched to Windows 10 and was having the very same problems Jorge had. After trawling through all the helpful advice, I've also finally managed to get up and running. It was a matter of switching to the Microsoft hardware option in the setup, as I think it was for Jorge.

:up:
Time may be a great healer
but it's a lousy beautician
Image

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests