Correct errors of a level not running.

builders help builders

Moderator: eTux

Post Reply
REHome
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: 03 May 2007 15:32
Location: Tenerife-Spain
Contact:

Correct errors of a level not running.

Post by REHome » 25 Oct 2016 22:25

Hello:

Years ago I want my level that I have not yet finished, the first serious level, serious but rookie. I have a lot to learn yet.

http://www.subeimagenes.com/img/trle-1669539.png

I want to run this test level I recovered, I've seen some textures that failure is not, but that's not a problem.

Before loading the map above me this message.

Image

150 errors, but it's been good. I give the cancel button and load as the first image.

Inicado keep the project down.
Image

Then I keep Output Wad indicated below.

Image

I keep it in the direction to others. Other no problems.

Image

I see this error.

Image

I give almost 20 times the cancel button and finally the window below appears.

Image

I close the TRLE level editor and open the converter levels.

Image

Is there any solution to this pronlema?

Greetings.

User avatar
Fluen
Member
Member
Posts: 935
Joined: 01 Mar 2006 17:37
Location: Elsinore, Denmark

Re: Correct errors of a level not running.

Post by Fluen » 26 Oct 2016 11:20

Your first problem (and I think, that's the cause of the crash later) are the 150 errors. It's because these are objects, that no longer are in your wad, when you open the project. So the editor finds triggers, that refer to objects, that it can't find in the wad.

Do you have WadMerger? Ask WadMerger to make a wad from the level/demo you have. And use that wad, when you open your project. Then hopefully all of those 150 errors have gone.

The next problem is the "evil" errors. You can't ignore "evil" errors. If such errors appear, it means your level will crash. And with 20 of them this sounds really bad.

You can't just rip a level, output it again and expect it to work. First you have to clean it up. Remove walls and portals that shouldn't be there ect. If you are lucky, someone with time on their hands will offer to help you with this.

Else I would suggest you build your level from scratch and use the ripped project as a guideline to how it should look.

User avatar
Titak
Member
Member
Posts: 767
Joined: 04 Sep 2003 09:47
Location: Drenthe, The Netherlands

Re: Correct errors of a level not running.

Post by Titak » 26 Oct 2016 16:19

I'm guessing this is the prj you extracted from that .tr4 file using TR2PRJ, as mentioned in your other thread?
Boy, TR2PRJ sure does a buggy job then. :(
Remove walls and portals that shouldn't be there ect.
Removing ALL portals could indeed help.
The "evil object" message has been popping up on my end due to faulty portals between rooms.
And when rooms are not moved, it is easy enough to connect all the rooms again once the level works. :D


Otherwise, yes, remaking from scratch is probably needed then.
This faulty prj could then be used for reference if you want the exact same roosm back.
Nothing is in contradiction with nature,
only in contradiction with what we know of it.

REHome
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: 03 May 2007 15:32
Location: Tenerife-Spain
Contact:

Re: Correct errors of a level not running.

Post by REHome » 26 Oct 2016 18:07

Hello:

I want exactly that project.
http://www.trle.net/sc/levelfeatures.php?lid=1649

I do not care remove the doors and put them together again. Harela proof doors.

Do you also have to remove all objects?

I'm interested that level the entire structure works well, if I have to put all the textures again.

Greetings.

User avatar
Fluen
Member
Member
Posts: 935
Joined: 01 Mar 2006 17:37
Location: Elsinore, Denmark

Re: Correct errors of a level not running.

Post by Fluen » 26 Oct 2016 19:59

First make sure you don't get those 150 errors. Perhaps you can use FexInspect to help you find out, what objects were in the wad, you used for the demo. FexInspect by TurboPascal will show you all objects, and where they are triggered.

Then remove all portals.

Then try to output the wad. If you don't get any "evil" errors, you should have a chance to make the level work.

Then you can add the portals again.

Then you output the wad once more. If you still don't get "evil" errors, you are ready to build on and expand your level.

REHome
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: 03 May 2007 15:32
Location: Tenerife-Spain
Contact:

Re: Correct errors of a level not running.

Post by REHome » 27 Oct 2016 04:25

I try with these two programs.
http://www.trsearch.org/Tools/24/
http://www.trsearch.org/Tools/23/

I do not remember to remove the door. How is it done?

sapper
Member
Member
Posts: 126
Joined: 23 Mar 2008 12:07
Contact:

Re: Correct errors of a level not running.

Post by sapper » 27 Oct 2016 09:19

Click on the door in the 2D grid until it is selected with green outline.
Then press "delete" key on keyboard.

REHome
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: 03 May 2007 15:32
Location: Tenerife-Spain
Contact:

Re: Correct errors of a level not running.

Post by REHome » 27 Oct 2016 16:27

Hi:

Room 45 I can not choose.

Image

I deleted just the doors and keep the project. I have not removed the pink triggers.

Then I keep Output Wad indicated below.
Image

I get error when you save the wad.
Image

By Test, I have not used more programs.

User avatar
Fluen
Member
Member
Posts: 935
Joined: 01 Mar 2006 17:37
Location: Elsinore, Denmark

Re: Correct errors of a level not running.

Post by Fluen » 27 Oct 2016 21:35

To acces room 45 (the flipped room), you have to find the unflipped room. Look through your rooms and search for the room, where the F-button next to the room number is pressed (is black). In that room you press alt + f, so the area around the room becomes black. Now you are in the flipped room.

Warning: make sure you leave the flipped state, before you save. You do that by pressing alt + f again, so the area around the room turns white again.

REHome
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: 03 May 2007 15:32
Location: Tenerife-Spain
Contact:

Re: Correct errors of a level not running.

Post by REHome » 27 Oct 2016 22:47

The project is saved well. I did your steps. When you save the Wad continues with the same mensje.

Image

Any ideas?

Download Proyect. (DropBox).

;)

sapper
Member
Member
Posts: 126
Joined: 23 Mar 2008 12:07
Contact:

Re: Correct errors of a level not running.

Post by sapper » 29 Oct 2016 06:13

Here is prj and wad file.

http://www.mediafire.com/file/8lgw7glo0 ... PrjWad.zip

The wad was created from TR4 file so has some bugs.

I suggest you recreate the wad using wads that came with TRLE and objects from trsearch.

Steps that I did were.

Create wad from TR4 file using latest Wadmerger. (Statics have to be copied individually)

Load TR4 in TR2PRJ and check Objects, Textures.
Press save all in TR2PRJ and enter filename to save project.
Load .was file in TR2PRJ.

Load .prj in winroomedit and get 91 errors that I cancel. This is to be expected see TR2prj readme.
Save .prj with errors fixed.
Output .tom, file no errors.

Convert with tom2pc, no errors.

Play level. Lots of geometry and texture and object placement errors but plays ok. Sounds missing.

Fixed sounds using SoundEditor and reconvert with tom2pc.

I didn't have to delete doors.

BTW you should patch TRLE with mousepatch so you can rotate, zoom and translate the 3D view with your mouse instead of keys.

http://www.laraslevelbase.org/stuff/index.asp?id=2396

PS What program did you use to create jagged screenshots?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests