Limit for the flame emitter?

builders help builders

Moderator: eTux

Post Reply
QRS
Admin
Admin
Posts: 5507
Joined: 29 Mar 2005 14:37

Limit for the flame emitter?

Post by QRS » 22 Jun 2016 15:53

Sorry for the basic question. I can't seem to remember the limit for the flame emitters burning at the same time. Was it 15? 22? Those are the numbers that comes to mind for some reason :)

I have tried to google it and search it here and on other forums but it is easier to ask again. Getting old it seems :/
Currently playing: Babylon Is Fallen

User avatar
DJ Full
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 6641
Joined: 02 Nov 2010 03:02

Re: Limit for the flame emitter?

Post by DJ Full » 22 Jun 2016 18:51

31
MAKE WIDESHOT GREAT AGAIN

QRS
Admin
Admin
Posts: 5507
Joined: 29 Mar 2005 14:37

Re: Limit for the flame emitter?

Post by QRS » 22 Jun 2016 20:03

Thanks, DJ!
Currently playing: Babylon Is Fallen

User avatar
justin
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 1891
Joined: 08 Dec 2001 00:38
Location: CT, USA

Re: Limit for the flame emitter?

Post by justin » 23 Jun 2016 11:09

31, that's a high number. I'm so used to keeping them in the single digits :)
Dark Skies loom...
Image

User avatar
Fluen
Member
Member
Posts: 945
Joined: 01 Mar 2006 17:37
Location: Elsinore, Denmark

Re: Limit for the flame emitter?

Post by Fluen » 23 Jun 2016 11:17

What about flame-emitter3's made into sparks, steam-emitters, smoke-emitters and local lensflares? Do they also count into that number?

QRS
Admin
Admin
Posts: 5507
Joined: 29 Mar 2005 14:37

Re: Limit for the flame emitter?

Post by QRS » 23 Jun 2016 13:55

Hmm I was also about to ask the same question, Fluen. I was thinking about the waterfall mist objects though but I guess it is kind of the same?

Justin: Sadly I seldom care about the limtis...until it is too late and I have to change and antitrigger this and that lol.
Currently playing: Babylon Is Fallen

User avatar
vimmers
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 10544
Joined: 15 Mar 2002 15:10
Location: denmark

Re: Limit for the flame emitter?

Post by vimmers » 23 Jun 2016 16:34

everyone knows that DJ always trying to push it to the limit :lol:
rgs vimmers
hit f5 often in the forum

User avatar
DJ Full
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 6641
Joined: 02 Nov 2010 03:02

Re: Limit for the flame emitter?

Post by DJ Full » 23 Jun 2016 17:40

I don't know if different sprites have a common limit. I presume they don't.
But a flame emitter also includes a smoke sprite so this might be the heaviest.

I always wanted to test that, but I just didn't build enough to have a chance.
BtB levels just don't allow such testing.
MAKE WIDESHOT GREAT AGAIN

User avatar
justin
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 1891
Joined: 08 Dec 2001 00:38
Location: CT, USA

Re: Limit for the flame emitter?

Post by justin » 24 Jun 2016 11:12

QRS wrote:
Justin: Sadly I seldom care about the limtis...until it is too late and I have to change and antitrigger this and that lol.
I've had to scrap and rebuild too many levels, now I pay close attention to emitters, triggers, objects, boxes from the very start of my levels :lol:

I also plan ahead and create split-points in case I do have to split my levels :hammer:
Dark Skies loom...
Image

QRS
Admin
Admin
Posts: 5507
Joined: 29 Mar 2005 14:37

Re: Limit for the flame emitter?

Post by QRS » 24 Jun 2016 18:31

My building process is always total chaos...just my kind of way. I always set out with goals but the result will always be something different! Love that process but it has its downsides....hence me never being able to tribute a single btb level :(

I start with the idea of a jungle level and the result becomes a catacomb...or a trainlevel lol :lol: haha.

And with that comes total chaos while building too...fixing stuff in different rooms and levels here and there instead of one room at the time etc. Oh and not to mention all the bugs and limits hehe. But you just work around it...it builds character hehe :lol:
Currently playing: Babylon Is Fallen

QRS
Admin
Admin
Posts: 5507
Joined: 29 Mar 2005 14:37

Re: Limit for the flame emitter?

Post by QRS » 30 Sep 2016 14:13

Some thoughts about the condition trigger: Is it possible to make something happen by starting some kind of condition trigger before the tasks? Seems like the standard way is fulfull the tasks THEN step on a condition trigger and something happens.

I would prefer the trigger when lara starts and then when she (example) has collected 3 pickups something happens!

I have tried that out with a standard condition trigger but it doesn't work it seems. Is it possible in any other way?
Currently playing: Babylon Is Fallen

User avatar
Titak
Member
Member
Posts: 785
Joined: 04 Sep 2003 09:47
Location: Drenthe, The Netherlands

Re: Limit for the flame emitter?

Post by Titak » 30 Sep 2016 19:19

Seems to me like you could use this:

Code: Select all

; Set Trigger Type - CONDITION 3
; Exporting: CONDITION(3:56) for PARAMETER(175)
; <#> : PUZZLE_ITEM1                    	Slot=175
; <&> : Inventory. There are at least (E) of <#>inventory_item in inventory
; (E) :    3 
; Values to add in script command: $8000, 175, $303
If you haven't tried this.

TriggerGroup= 1, $8000, 175, $303
TriggerGroup= 2, ******** (exported triggers for the things that have to happen once Lara has collected the three items)
GlobalTrigger= 1, FGT_SINGLE_SHOT, GT_CONDITION_GROUP, IGNORE, 1, 2, -1

If you don't want her to collect 3 of the same item, you could use for example:

Code: Select all

; Set Trigger Type - CONDITION 2
; Exporting: CONDITION(2:0) for PARAMETER(175)
; <#> : PUZZLE_ITEM1                    	Slot=175
; <&> : Inventory. Present <#>inventory_item.
; (E) : 
; Values to add in script command: $8000, 175, $2
And the same trigger for the other items she needs to find, for example puzzle-item2 and puzzle-item3 would make TG1 look like this:
TriggerGroup= 1, $8000, 175, $2, $8000, 176, $2, $8000, 177, $2

The above is done in the script ofcourse.
No triggers need to be placed in the map.
Nothing is in contradiction with nature,
only in contradiction with what we know of it.

QRS
Admin
Admin
Posts: 5507
Joined: 29 Mar 2005 14:37

Re: Limit for the flame emitter?

Post by QRS » 01 Oct 2016 13:03

Thanks for your super help, Titia!

One thing though, as I have been away for a long time from building and also never really got into the script thingie much. How do you export the value of ordinary triggers? I can only seem to do that from action and condition triggers.

Let's say I just want a trapdoor to open or similar. Just a trigger for the trapdoor in other words. How do you export that value?

Also the valu in TG1 is from the condition itself and TG2 is what will happen in easier words? And the global part triggers it so to speak? Just want to understand it better hehe :)
Currently playing: Babylon Is Fallen

User avatar
Titak
Member
Member
Posts: 785
Joined: 04 Sep 2003 09:47
Location: Drenthe, The Netherlands

Re: Limit for the flame emitter?

Post by Titak » 01 Oct 2016 15:57

A trapdoor can be opened using an action trigger.
Action>Trigger. That's where the default triggers are in Action trigger form so they can be exported for use in TG's.
My guess would be that you would need the action>trigger for opening/closing doors. Otherwise it would be the action>trigger for activating a moveable.
Also the valu in TG1 is from the condition itself and TG2 is what will happen in easier words?
Correct.
And the global part triggers it so to speak?
Also correct.
The GT checks for the condition(s) to become true and when the condition(s) become true the GlobalTrigger activates whatever is listed in TG2.
Nothing is in contradiction with nature,
only in contradiction with what we know of it.

QRS
Admin
Admin
Posts: 5507
Joined: 29 Mar 2005 14:37

Re: Limit for the flame emitter?

Post by QRS » 01 Oct 2016 19:24

Thanks for your help!! You are a life saver! I got it to work after some trouble and confusion. I think I get the (basic) hang of it now. (Kind of reminds me of trying to make programs in BASIC for the C64 hehe)

Feels kind of nice to trigger stuff without the actual triggers in the game hehe. Take that you damn trle limits! ;) :lol:
Currently playing: Babylon Is Fallen

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests