Moving parallel bars

builders help builders

Moderator: eTux

Post Reply
User avatar
justin
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 1891
Joined: 08 Dec 2001 00:38
Location: CT, USA

Moving parallel bars

Post by justin » 12 Apr 2016 13:32

Hey has anyone tried adding motion to the parallel bars? Similar to the idea of moving the 2-block platform, by adding an organizer and global trigger to apply physics to Lara so that she moves with the bar while she's on it.

I kind of got it to work, but about half of the time, Lara simply doesn't move with the bar. I'm thinking it has to do with her StateID. I'm using the Move Moveable action on the actual Lara object, since the Lara Physics flipeffect doesn't work at all in this situation.

Not the end of the world if I can't get this to work, I just thought it'd be a cool twist on the bars :)
Dark Skies loom...
Image

User avatar
Titak
Member
Member
Posts: 793
Joined: 04 Sep 2003 09:47
Location: Drenthe, The Netherlands

Re: Moving parallel bars

Post by Titak » 12 Apr 2016 17:47

There's one place in one of my levels where Lara grabs a bar and then it moves down, taking her down as well. While she moves down with the bar, she can perform all animations that are possible on my bars.

The thing with my bar is that it only moves once, but I guess my setup could be expanded using an Organizer to make the bar go up and down in a looping way.

Here's what I use:
Parameters= PARAM_MOVE_ITEM, 20, IGNORE, 2378, DIR_DOWN, 1024, 16, IGNORE, 375, IGNORE ; move swingpole down
Parameters= PARAM_MOVE_ITEM, 21, IGNORE, 0, DIR_DOWN, 1024, 16, IGNORE, IGNORE, IGNORE ; move Lara down
TriggerGroup= 189, $8000, 15, $23 ; condition that Lara is holding pole
Organizer= 21, FO_TICK_TIME, IGNORE, 0, 190, 30, 191
TriggerGroup= 190, $2000 + TGROUP_SINGLE_SHOT, 167, $14, $2000, 167, $15 ; move pole and Lara
TriggerGroup= 191, $2000, 109, $2E00 ; disable GT 46
TriggerGroup= 192, $2000 + TGROUP_SINGLE_SHOT, 127, $15 ; enable Organizer21
GlobalTrigger= 46, IGNORE, GT_CONDITION_GROUP, IGNORE, 189, 192, -1

As said, my pole only moves down once the moment Lara grabs it, hence GT191 in the Organizer.
GT191 is used to prevent this setup from activating again when Lara grabs another pole in another part of the level.

Not sure if this is related to what you want, but perhaps it can point you in the right direction.

I have not tried any horizontal movements yet.
Nothing is in contradiction with nature,
only in contradiction with what we know of it.

User avatar
justin
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 1891
Joined: 08 Dec 2001 00:38
Location: CT, USA

Re: Moving parallel bars

Post by justin » 12 Apr 2016 17:53

Thanks! This is pretty much exactly what i'm trying to achieve! I'm also doing a vertical movement. So for moving Lara, the IndexID is 0?

Let me just double check the triggers i'm using...
Dark Skies loom...
Image

User avatar
justin
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 1891
Joined: 08 Dec 2001 00:38
Location: CT, USA

Re: Moving parallel bars

Post by justin » 12 Apr 2016 18:01

Okay so the biggest difference I notice here is that you're using the "Holding Pole" condition. Unfortunately, the bars I'm using are in the Parallel Bars slot, so that won't work :\

I've been using the distance-from condition.

I'm pretty sure i'm missing something else in this setup... I'm gonna toy around with using a single motion to pin-point the issue
Dark Skies loom...
Image

User avatar
Titak
Member
Member
Posts: 793
Joined: 04 Sep 2003 09:47
Location: Drenthe, The Netherlands

Re: Moving parallel bars

Post by Titak » 12 Apr 2016 18:18

Yes it'll work.
I'm also using the parallelbars for this setup.
That condition works for both parallel-bars and pole-rope.

Just give it a try. :D
Nothing is in contradiction with nature,
only in contradiction with what we know of it.

User avatar
justin
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 1891
Joined: 08 Dec 2001 00:38
Location: CT, USA

Re: Moving parallel bars

Post by justin » 12 Apr 2016 18:37

Titak wrote:Yes it'll work.
I'm also using the parallelbars for this setup.
That condition works for both parallel-bars and pole-rope.

Just give it a try. :D
Odd, doesn't work for me. But that's okay, the "touching item" trigger works just fine. It looks like it has something to do with the way I enable and disable the GT that handles moving Lara up and down.
Dark Skies loom...
Image

User avatar
justin
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 1891
Joined: 08 Dec 2001 00:38
Location: CT, USA

Re: Moving parallel bars

Post by justin » 12 Apr 2016 21:08

I figured it out! It was in-fact the GTs I was disabling and enabling to handle Lara moving with the bars. I combined them all together to fix the issue and it appears to work as I want.

Thanks for the help, again, Titak! Just knowing that someone else did this was good, as I knew I wasn't chasing after something that wasn't going to work :)
Dark Skies loom...
Image

User avatar
Titak
Member
Member
Posts: 793
Joined: 04 Sep 2003 09:47
Location: Drenthe, The Netherlands

Re: Moving parallel bars

Post by Titak » 13 Apr 2016 20:03

Good to hear it is working now. :2thumbsup:
Glad I could help.
Nothing is in contradiction with nature,
only in contradiction with what we know of it.

User avatar
justin
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 1891
Joined: 08 Dec 2001 00:38
Location: CT, USA

Re: Moving parallel bars

Post by justin » 13 Apr 2016 20:06

Now as far as your move command: Parameters= PARAM_MOVE_ITEM, 21, IGNORE, 0, DIR_DOWN, 1024, 16, IGNORE, IGNORE, IGNORE

Does your Lara object just happen to have the indexID of 0?
Dark Skies loom...
Image

User avatar
Titak
Member
Member
Posts: 793
Joined: 04 Sep 2003 09:47
Location: Drenthe, The Netherlands

Re: Moving parallel bars

Post by Titak » 13 Apr 2016 20:15

Yes, my Lara does indeed have index 0.
And that parallel bar has index 2378.
So you should adjust this for your own objects and Lara.
(sorry, I just saw you asked this before, but did not notice it then... :blush: )
Nothing is in contradiction with nature,
only in contradiction with what we know of it.

User avatar
justin
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 1891
Joined: 08 Dec 2001 00:38
Location: CT, USA

Re: Moving parallel bars

Post by justin » 13 Apr 2016 20:21

Titak wrote:Yes, my Lara does indeed have index 0.
And that parallel bar has index 2378.
So you should adjust this for your own objects and Lara.
(sorry, I just saw you asked this before, but did not notice it then... :blush: )
Yeah I had been using the index of my Lara item. I only ask because my lara object has NEVER had an index of 0 :lol:
Dark Skies loom...
Image

User avatar
Titak
Member
Member
Posts: 793
Joined: 04 Sep 2003 09:47
Location: Drenthe, The Netherlands

Re: Moving parallel bars

Post by Titak » 14 Apr 2016 17:14

I've made a habit out of placing Lara first before any other object. :D
This because I have scripts that are attached to each level of my games.
And I'll have to change a lot of numbers if my Lara has another index in another level. Changing the numbers is not much of a problem in itself, but it is very easy to overlook one, resulting in stuff not working or not working properly.
Nothing is in contradiction with nature,
only in contradiction with what we know of it.

User avatar
justin
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 1891
Joined: 08 Dec 2001 00:38
Location: CT, USA

Re: Moving parallel bars

Post by justin » 14 Apr 2016 17:26

That makes sense. This is the first time i've ever needed to reference Lara's indexID :)

I delete and re-add Lara so often (not just using the Move Lara button), I would surely accidentally lose her IndexID :D
Dark Skies loom...
Image

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests