General Level Editing Thread

builders help builders

Moderator: eTux

Post Reply
User avatar
justin
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 1911
Joined: 08 Dec 2001 01:38
Location: CT, USA

Re: General Level Editing Thread

Post by justin » 26 Jan 2015 13:00

What an annoyingly cool trick. You skipped the stacked objects, is this because she can't pass through them?
Dark Skies loom...
Image

User avatar
DJ Full
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 6804
Joined: 02 Nov 2010 04:02

Re: General Level Editing Thread

Post by DJ Full » 26 Jan 2015 13:54

I skipped them because I shouldn't test stacked objects together with single ones. I'll find some ARCHITECTURE4 which is a single unit and high enough.
MAKE WIDESHOT GREAT AGAIN

User avatar
justin
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 1911
Joined: 08 Dec 2001 01:38
Location: CT, USA

Re: General Level Editing Thread

Post by justin » 26 Jan 2015 14:35

So just to be clear, stacking objects makes no difference? Either way, weird glitch
Dark Skies loom...
Image

User avatar
DJ Full
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 6804
Joined: 02 Nov 2010 04:02

Re: General Level Editing Thread

Post by DJ Full » 26 Jan 2015 15:53

I don't know. Testing just one couple won't tell anything. That's why I ignored it and will make a separate test.
MAKE WIDESHOT GREAT AGAIN

User avatar
justin
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 1911
Joined: 08 Dec 2001 01:38
Location: CT, USA

Re: General Level Editing Thread

Post by justin » 26 Jan 2015 23:35

Oh i get ya :)
Dark Skies loom...
Image

User avatar
DJ Full
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 6804
Joined: 02 Nov 2010 04:02

Re: General Level Editing Thread

Post by DJ Full » 28 Feb 2015 15:07

Is there a way to flatten a bent quad in Meta without need to triangulate it?
MAKE WIDESHOT GREAT AGAIN

User avatar
Titak
Member
Member
Posts: 859
Joined: 04 Sep 2003 10:47
Location: Drenthe, The Netherlands

Re: General Level Editing Thread

Post by Titak » 28 Feb 2015 17:57

I don't think so. :thinking:

Sometimes when I have a complicated object which takes ages to textures I just leave all the faces in quad shape.
Later on when using Meta2TR on my level I can easily triangulate all quads without destroying the texturing. :D
Nothing is in contradiction with nature,
only in contradiction with what we know of it.


Image

sapper
Member
Member
Posts: 128
Joined: 23 Mar 2008 13:07
Contact:

Re: General Level Editing Thread

Post by sapper » 01 Mar 2015 01:01

DJ Full wrote:Is there a way to flatten a bent quad in Meta without need to triangulate it?
Well you could do some maths and move one point where it needs to be.

EDIT: Maybe you can use Selected>Align vertices option?

User avatar
DJ Full
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 6804
Joined: 02 Nov 2010 04:02

Re: General Level Editing Thread

Post by DJ Full » 02 Mar 2015 09:57

Titak wrote:Sometimes when I have a complicated object which takes ages to textures I just leave all the faces in quad shape. Later on when using Meta2TR on my level I can easily triangulate all quads without destroying the texturing. :D
Good thing to note, but this is for BtB so I can't use triangles. Each texture shape (quad, flip quad, triangle, flip triangle) takes a separate info, so we avoid unnecessary ones in the wad for the builders to have more of them to spare in their levels (the reduction goes nicely and this edition will supposedly allow contest games as complex as never before, together with preventing their unstability).
sapper wrote:you could do some maths and move one point where it needs to be. Maybe you can use Selected>Align vertices option?
That's what I sometimes do, but often moving a vertex to flatten one quad bends the adjacent one. Moving them in couples is better, but still I never know if I didn't forget a quad, especially when an object is complex. I think an algorithm to batch flatten quads in Meta, changing the shape as little as possible, would be a nice feature.

Well, so far the object renders quite nice, You need to stare at it for ages to notice something disappear, so maybe I'll just leave it as it is. Thank You both for the answer :)
MAKE WIDESHOT GREAT AGAIN

sapper
Member
Member
Posts: 128
Joined: 23 Mar 2008 13:07
Contact:

Re: General Level Editing Thread

Post by sapper » 02 Mar 2015 13:03

DJ Full wrote:That's what I sometimes do, but often moving a vertex to flatten one quad bends the adjacent one. Moving them in couples is better, but still I never know if I didn't forget a quad, especially when an object is complex. I think an algorithm to batch flatten quads in Meta, changing the shape as little as possible, would be a nice feature.
That's too complicated for me.

Anyway here is the maths for a single quad. I used the freeware SMath Studio for calculations.

Image

User avatar
DJ Full
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 6804
Joined: 02 Nov 2010 04:02

Re: General Level Editing Thread

Post by DJ Full » 05 Mar 2015 20:49

Wow this is exactly something I've been looking for. Thank You :2thumbsup:
MAKE WIDESHOT GREAT AGAIN

sapper
Member
Member
Posts: 128
Joined: 23 Mar 2008 13:07
Contact:

Re: General Level Editing Thread

Post by sapper » 06 Mar 2015 03:44

Why didn't you want to triangulate the bent quads?

User avatar
DJ Full
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 6804
Joined: 02 Nov 2010 04:02

Re: General Level Editing Thread

Post by DJ Full » 08 Mar 2015 21:38

Because so far, in all objects used, this texture only had quadrangle form, and there's no need to take +1 info for triangular variant if it would be used in my single object only. Similarly, if objects I make require mirroring, I just incorporate the flip into a single texture instead of taking +1 info to create its flipped variant in the wad :)
MAKE WIDESHOT GREAT AGAIN

User avatar
DJ Full
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 6804
Joined: 02 Nov 2010 04:02

Re: General Level Editing Thread

Post by DJ Full » 26 Mar 2015 13:37

Hey there, I have trouble controlling axes of WM Animation Editor. As in:
- when I try to rotate the object with one knob, another axis responds
- I can only rotate around two axes but not the third one
- when moving the object along one axis, it moves along another one for small distance, before follows just the one I want
- sometimes when I select a frame and do a little drag when the move window is open, the object moves off position.
What can I do to get rid of this, if anything at all? Thanks :)
MAKE WIDESHOT GREAT AGAIN

sapper
Member
Member
Posts: 128
Joined: 23 Mar 2008 13:07
Contact:

Re: General Level Editing Thread

Post by sapper » 27 Mar 2015 01:31

Have you tried Paolone's update fix for WM?

It adds extra buttons to use for rotation and translation.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests