General Level Editing Thread

builders help builders

Moderator: eTux

Post Reply
User avatar
Titak
Member
Member
Posts: 793
Joined: 04 Sep 2003 09:47
Location: Drenthe, The Netherlands

Re: General Level Editing Thread

Post by Titak » 25 Feb 2017 11:30

Adding a mesh to an existing object needs to be done in STRPix ("Add new empty mesh" option from the "Edit" dropdown meny), and WADMerger needs to be used afterwards for adjusting the meshtree and such.
But I do not know by heart how it is done exactly.

Whenever I need to add a mesh to an animating I always check a flashtutorial on TR Search Engine, but since that's down... :cry:
Nothing is in contradiction with nature,
only in contradiction with what we know of it.

User avatar
JesseG
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 1071
Joined: 10 Mar 2006 20:33
Location: Connecticut, USA

Re: General Level Editing Thread

Post by JesseG » 25 Feb 2017 15:58

It's a good start, I'll give it a try :)

Edit: That did the trick, thanks! :2thumbsup: More specifically what I did was:
  1. Had the two objects in separate slots in the same WAD
  • Opened Strpix, Exported the mesh I wanted to add, as a .dxf
  • Used the "add empty mesh" command in strpix
  • Imported the .dxf into the empty mesh slot
  • Opened the Animation Editor in WADMerger, and sure enough the Extra Mesh 0 now appeared in the Meshtree editor, so I could add it to the object.
Image

User avatar
Titak
Member
Member
Posts: 793
Joined: 04 Sep 2003 09:47
Location: Drenthe, The Netherlands

Re: General Level Editing Thread

Post by Titak » 25 Feb 2017 17:20

Sounds simple enough. :D

I remember getting weird messages and WADMerger crashing and such. The tutorial even warns about those messages and how you should simply try again.
It worked for me those few times I tried, even though I got the messages.
Did you get any messages along the way? :thinking:
Nothing is in contradiction with nature,
only in contradiction with what we know of it.

User avatar
JesseG
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 1071
Joined: 10 Mar 2006 20:33
Location: Connecticut, USA

Re: General Level Editing Thread

Post by JesseG » 25 Feb 2017 22:52

No. Maybe that depends on the complexity of the meshtree, I literally just have a mesh 0 with a Mesh 1 under it with no issues :D

Of course my intent failed, I was doing this for a Horizon, turns out it only seems to look at Mesh 0, so I probably have to combine into a single mesh. :( (I'm feeling lazy when it comes to retexturing!)
Image

User avatar
Hitsumei
Chatterbox
Chatterbox
Posts: 2863
Joined: 04 May 2004 02:26
Location: Georgia (USA)

Re: General Level Editing Thread

Post by Hitsumei » 01 Mar 2017 21:31

I'm having a problem with ceiling spikes. My intent is to put spikes to get Lara to backflip and twist towards another ladder. However, the ceiling spikes are invisible in-game (Lara can feel the pain of the spikes though).

I'm not sure how to solve this. The room is oriented North-South, so I put an OCB of 16 for spikes appearing constantly.
trng_invisible_ceiling_spikes (Copy).jpg
"With effort and persistence, a beginner can become an expert!"

User avatar
Titak
Member
Member
Posts: 793
Joined: 04 Sep 2003 09:47
Location: Drenthe, The Netherlands

Re: General Level Editing Thread

Post by Titak » 02 Mar 2017 17:45

I'm assuming the spikes are textured properly? (can't see it well in the screenshot).
And are they placed far enough below the ceiling?
Instead of OCB 16, have you also tried 24? (According to this tutorial: http://www.tombraiderforums.com/showthr ... eth+spikes)

Other than that, I can't think of anything right now. :thinking:
Nothing is in contradiction with nature,
only in contradiction with what we know of it.

User avatar
Hitsumei
Chatterbox
Chatterbox
Posts: 2863
Joined: 04 May 2004 02:26
Location: Georgia (USA)

Re: General Level Editing Thread

Post by Hitsumei » 02 Mar 2017 18:07

@Titak

I deleted the pit, reinserted the ceiling spikes, adjusted the level of the spikes, recreated the pit portal and was able to see them. Now the ceiling spikes are visible. However, the spikes seem to impact Lara before she reaches the actual point of the spikes.

So I'm focusing on making a sliding slope towards the ladder instead. Well, I came up with a tricky, but doable jump! :idea:
"With effort and persistence, a beginner can become an expert!"

User avatar
Titak
Member
Member
Posts: 793
Joined: 04 Sep 2003 09:47
Location: Drenthe, The Netherlands

Re: General Level Editing Thread

Post by Titak » 02 Mar 2017 18:33

Good to hear you got hemworking! :2thumbsup:
However, the spikes seem to impact Lara before she reaches the actual point of the spikes.
I've noticed this quite often.
It's especially present with custom spikes that are shorter than the TR4 default spikes.
Not sure if the collisionbox for spikes can be adjusted though... :thinking:

It's the same for the boundaries of the spikes: Lara can get impaled when she's standing next to the spikes... :duh:
Nothing is in contradiction with nature,
only in contradiction with what we know of it.

User avatar
JesseG
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 1071
Joined: 10 Mar 2006 20:33
Location: Connecticut, USA

Re: General Level Editing Thread

Post by JesseG » 04 Mar 2017 05:01

I'm pretty sure the boundaries can be adjusted, at least on the sides. I have seen this in levels, usually in a negative way: custom spikes where the collision on the sides is way too big and Lara gets hurt just by being half a tile away from the tile that has the spikes :beadyeyes2:
Image

User avatar
DJ Full
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 6695
Joined: 02 Nov 2010 03:02

Re: General Level Editing Thread

Post by DJ Full » 05 Apr 2017 16:51

How do I delete unused sounds from an animation?
I don't mean animation commands but slots assigned.
I settled with one so I don't need the wip ones anymore.
MAKE WIDESHOT GREAT AGAIN

User avatar
Mulf
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 1119
Joined: 03 Oct 2001 23:41

Re: General Level Editing Thread

Post by Mulf » 05 Apr 2017 18:16

Could you rephrase the question? I'm not sure I have an idea of what you're trying to do... :?

User avatar
DJ Full
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 6695
Joined: 02 Nov 2010 03:02

Re: General Level Editing Thread

Post by DJ Full » 05 Apr 2017 19:13

Rephrasing in progress... please wait...Image

I have here a globe, like in Angkor Wat. It has a spinning animation, with a sound animcommand.
When looking for a spinning sample, I tested several slots, so I added all with Sound > Add sounds.
Now I chose ROLLING_DOOR so I should delete all other slots I added before but don't need anymore.

This object is the same ANIMATING1 which I mentioned on the blue forum, in Sound Editor thread.
I also keep having the problem of random playing despite of no "chance" attribute assigned.
MAKE WIDESHOT GREAT AGAIN

User avatar
EssGee
Mod
Mod
Posts: 5637
Joined: 01 Feb 2003 12:56
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Re: General Level Editing Thread

Post by EssGee » 06 Apr 2017 11:57

Solved in PM to you.
You were referring to your sounds.txt values, when you should have been looking in Wadmerger what your actual Chance values were in your wad. Fixed for you with TRLE Sound Editor.
Image

User avatar
DJ Full
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 6695
Joined: 02 Nov 2010 03:02

Re: General Level Editing Thread

Post by DJ Full » 06 Apr 2017 16:30

Thank you Scott. It seems I understood the elements but not the origin.
Now following your procedure, a curious thing happens. This is my .SFX:

PENDULUM_BLADES: VOL40 PIT40 RAD04
GENERIC_SWOOSH: VOL45 PIT10 RAD10

But this is my sounds.txt created from the above .SFX:

PENDULUM_BLADES: VOL60 PIT-50 RAD08
GENERIC_SWOOSH: VOL45 PIT10 RAD10

I update sounds.txt to:

PENDULUM_BLADES: VOL30 PIT30 RAD04
GENERIC_SWOOSH: VOL30 PIT30 RAD04

I output .sam .sfx and load the wad again into sound editor. It reads fine:

PENDULUM_BLADES: VOL30 PIT30 RAD04
GENERIC_SWOOSH: VOL30 PIT30 RAD04

So it looks updated... but when I create sounds.txt it reverts:

PENDULUM_BLADES: VOL60 PIT-50 RAD08
GENERIC_SWOOSH: VOL45 PIT10 AD10

Jesus Christ... I swear writing a piano sonata was easier than that...
MAKE WIDESHOT GREAT AGAIN

User avatar
EssGee
Mod
Mod
Posts: 5637
Joined: 01 Feb 2003 12:56
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Re: General Level Editing Thread

Post by EssGee » 08 Apr 2017 00:02

I know you've tried to explain thoroughly what you're seeing, but I think there is information missing from your description which makes it hard to diagnose the problem and I don't want to confuse you further. But it does appear to me that you are getting confused with where sources of sounds.txt are coming from.
(I'm thinking that I will have to write my own tute at some point), but it may be helpful to go back and walk through again Sapper's User Guide that is included with TRLE Sound Editor.
Just based on what you've said, it seems like there could be some confusion about the source/location of the sounds.txt file that you are referring to. That's because there would be a sounds.txt file in your editor folders .... classic path TRLE\sound\LevelSFX Creator. (But I know you have multiple iterations of TRLE set up on your system, so you need to be sure where you are getting your sounds.txt reference from.
There is the sounds.txt file that you load into TRLE Sound Editor. It may be from the source above. Depends how you've followed Sapper's setup instructions.
Then there is the custom sounds.txt that the Sound Editor creates in its Output folder. This one will have the edits that you applied once you have loaded your wad into Sound Editor and applied changes. You can re-load this later and continue on with more edits to it.

I don't feel like I can give you all the possible scenarios and answers in a compact answer here :(
Image

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests