General Level Editing Thread

builders help builders

Moderator: eTux

Post Reply
User avatar
DJ Full
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 6641
Joined: 02 Nov 2010 03:02

Re: General Level Editing Thread

Post by DJ Full » 13 Dec 2016 23:52

I'm using new sound engine with CUST_SET_OLD_CD_TRIGGER to not overlap music.
Background is a normal range number, 100.mp3 without spaces or words in the name.
000.mp3 triggers regardless from where I die, even if I do nothing before killing Lara.

Meanwhile, got something else. Hovering over large medi gives a grash. Never had it 8)
EDIT: I see it only happens after DOZY but still it isn't normal.
MAKE WIDESHOT GREAT AGAIN

User avatar
JesseG
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 1063
Joined: 10 Mar 2006 20:33
Location: Connecticut, USA

Re: General Level Editing Thread

Post by JesseG » 15 Dec 2016 22:25

Wow, you're getting quite a few odd issues there. Maybe you could try commenting out as much script as you can and see if the issues persist? You never know :dunno:
Image

User avatar
DJ Full
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 6641
Joined: 02 Nov 2010 03:02

Re: General Level Editing Thread

Post by DJ Full » 15 Dec 2016 22:48

I never get non-odd issues...
The script is 18 pages long :freak: And it's not a multilevel :biker:
I'll delete=>analyze chunk by chunk but I may damage something else... :roll:

Good thing is I noticed the bug only happens during DOZY.
You won't feel it unless cheating, no reason for what in this level.
I provided enough flares, lots of bullets, dumb/weak enemies...
I think even I cannot die in this level anymore, that's good...

So in the meantime, something simple to exclude:
I tried 2 Addeffects on animating5_mip: one effect to joint 3, another to 6.
Cannot add more than one Addeffect. A limit per object, or me doing wrong?

EDIT: Solved. I apparently just forgot to swap from $4000 to $5000 after swapping static to moveable.
Never mind, you speak about weird errors. This is how my DEFAULT look camera looked like 5 mins ago:

Image

This happens if you set AddEffect= to a JOINT_ which doesn't exist, in this case I set 6 and I only had 3 :)
MAKE WIDESHOT GREAT AGAIN

User avatar
DJ Full
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 6641
Joined: 02 Nov 2010 03:02

Re: General Level Editing Thread

Post by DJ Full » 20 Dec 2016 14:31

Now I have here a similar problem with waterskin as I had with medikit.
But it crashes without DOZY, and only as full waterskin_3. Empty one works.
MAKE WIDESHOT GREAT AGAIN

User avatar
DJ Full
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 6641
Joined: 02 Nov 2010 03:02

Re: General Level Editing Thread

Post by DJ Full » 21 Dec 2016 05:09

Ha, I know. Very basic but still surprising. I had names at character limit.
DOZY exceeded it with added "Infinite", so the game crashed :D
Same with the waterskin, changing name when full :)

So it seems my level has natural anti-cheat system, heheh :-P
MAKE WIDESHOT GREAT AGAIN

User avatar
JesseG
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 1063
Joined: 10 Mar 2006 20:33
Location: Connecticut, USA

Re: General Level Editing Thread

Post by JesseG » 22 Dec 2016 00:58

I haven't heard of this before. Do you mean the names you put under english.txt can break the game if they're too long? Is it all the text in the file or does it apply just to what is actually in your level?
Image

User avatar
DJ Full
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 6641
Joined: 02 Nov 2010 03:02

Re: General Level Editing Thread

Post by DJ Full » 22 Dec 2016 01:21

I mean normal pickup names but made longer with "\n" line breaks.
This way I can have the pickup name together with inventory description.
I don't think it's always possible - I tried line break in Khmer BtB but it didn't allow.

When I could use the line break, the limit was around 127 characters like for many things.
I suspect it's the same without line break, but then it doesn't fit the screen so it's quite useless.
MAKE WIDESHOT GREAT AGAIN

User avatar
DJ Full
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 6641
Joined: 02 Nov 2010 03:02

Re: General Level Editing Thread

Post by DJ Full » 08 Jan 2017 13:49

Deleted my shatter question, solved - I had missed NG ocbs, enemy shatter = 1024.

Still, is it true SPHINX can destroy such shatters, just like the SKELETON does?
It is said in NGLE encyclopedia but I cannot make it work, with OCBs or without.
MAKE WIDESHOT GREAT AGAIN

User avatar
psiko
Member
Member
Posts: 612
Joined: 02 Dec 2001 01:56

Re: General Level Editing Thread

Post by psiko » 08 Jan 2017 17:17

have you tried shatter9 slot?

User avatar
DJ Full
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 6641
Joined: 02 Nov 2010 03:02

Re: General Level Editing Thread

Post by DJ Full » 08 Jan 2017 19:35

Both 8 and 9 :(
But I will retry.
MAKE WIDESHOT GREAT AGAIN

User avatar
JesseG
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 1063
Joined: 10 Mar 2006 20:33
Location: Connecticut, USA

Re: General Level Editing Thread

Post by JesseG » 14 Jan 2017 03:00

Has anyone used animating 2 or 3 from The Citadel Gate? It's the sliding coffin things. How do you give them hard collision like in the game? I can use "edit object" but it only exists on one tile (and doesn't slide with the object).

EDIT: Just a note that I ended up creating invisible doors to purposely create invisible walls. One starts open and the other starts closed. When the coffin moves, I trigger both doors to shift the collision. I used the "Edit Object" collision for the tile in between.
Image

User avatar
Hitsumei
Chatterbox
Chatterbox
Posts: 2786
Joined: 04 May 2004 02:26
Location: Georgia (USA)

Re: General Level Editing Thread

Post by Hitsumei » 31 Jan 2017 00:25

All right, I'm determined to resolve this animation problem before moving on to the next step in my level (so far a short 2-5 minute endeavor). :annoyed:

I put in water textures instead of lava textures, but as a result...
With Full-Rotate type animation, 30 fps and UVRotate: 1, the water kind of moves, but not the textures themselves.

What kind of animation should I do in order for the water textures to move?
"With effort and persistence, a beginner can become an expert!"

User avatar
Titak
Member
Member
Posts: 785
Joined: 04 Sep 2003 09:47
Location: Drenthe, The Netherlands

Re: General Level Editing Thread

Post by Titak » 05 Feb 2017 10:22

Is the lava made of several tiles or just one tile that's supposed to scroll (=flow) in one direction?
If it is several tiles, like water usually is, you should use AnimType "Frames".
For the single scrolling textures I always use "River Rotate".
Nothing is in contradiction with nature,
only in contradiction with what we know of it.

User avatar
Hitsumei
Chatterbox
Chatterbox
Posts: 2786
Joined: 04 May 2004 02:26
Location: Georgia (USA)

Re: General Level Editing Thread

Post by Hitsumei » 12 Feb 2017 19:46

Thank you Titak!

The water textures worked with river-rotate, but not the lava textures for some reason. However, I had to nix the water textures because the area near a column prevented the water textures from moving (the water moved normally everywhere else though). I'm going to try a room with spikes instead. I am planning an underwater passage in one of the upcoming rooms, so I'll see how that will work.

Edit: Sometime on February 20th, I did fix the problem by making sure to drag 8 water textures into one sequence, with frames animation (this is TRNG). :wink:
"With effort and persistence, a beginner can become an expert!"

User avatar
JesseG
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 1063
Joined: 10 Mar 2006 20:33
Location: Connecticut, USA

Re: General Level Editing Thread

Post by JesseG » 25 Feb 2017 02:51

I'm trying to combine two objects and realize I've never added a mesh to an existing object before. I know about the meshtree editor in WADMerger - how would I use it to add a new mesh to an existing object? There's a dropdown in the meshtree editor but it's empty, how would I get a new mesh option to populate in there?
Image

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests