General Level Editing Thread

builders help builders

Moderator: eTux

Post Reply
User avatar
Tolle87
Member
Member
Posts: 952
Joined: 12 Oct 2012 11:31
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Contact:

Re: General Level Editing Thread

Post by Tolle87 » 20 Mar 2018 18:33

Titak wrote:
20 Mar 2018 17:12
It can't be done.
This is why Core made that one-click deep room in between, in the TR4 level where you poor that stuff into the water and the floor becomes solid below that one click water.

You could try makign the water room a mist room, so the water reflection effect is in it, but it is in fact a dry room.
That way it creates the illusion of it still being water? :thinking:
Thank you Titak, at least I know I did everything I could :).

It can't be an illusion because Lara is actually inside that room when the change occurs :D
A man who introduced me to Lara back in 1996, more than a friend, my second father....
Dusan "Dule" Petrovic (1965-2018)

User avatar
Mr XY
Member
Member
Posts: 963
Joined: 30 Jun 2006 17:59
Location: Heidelberg, Germany

Re: General Level Editing Thread

Post by Mr XY » 28 Mar 2018 16:40

Titak wrote:
20 Mar 2018 17:12
It can't be done.
That's a myth which is not true. You indeed can have walkable water without any spare room whatsoever.

To achieve this you need to make both, the water room and the upper room a flipmap.
The setup goes like this:

Bottom room (water room):
Unflipped: water room with TO1 portal to upper room
Flipped: dry room with TO1 portal to upper room

Upper room (dry room):
Unflipped and flipped are the same with TO1 portals to the bottom room.

Now when you flip the upper room you can stand on the water. When you are in the water room you can not dive up. That means both rooms are accessible.

The bottom room is a flipmap but never gets flipped! No flipmap trigger needed for that room. :)
Image

User avatar
Tolle87
Member
Member
Posts: 952
Joined: 12 Oct 2012 11:31
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Contact:

Re: General Level Editing Thread

Post by Tolle87 » 29 Mar 2018 22:44

Mr XY wrote:
28 Mar 2018 16:40
The bottom room is a flipmap but never gets flipped! No flipmap trigger needed for that room. :)

After flipping the room, doesn't that mean that you will not be able to see solid texture on the portal when you are in the water room?
A man who introduced me to Lara back in 1996, more than a friend, my second father....
Dusan "Dule" Petrovic (1965-2018)

User avatar
Mr XY
Member
Member
Posts: 963
Joined: 30 Jun 2006 17:59
Location: Heidelberg, Germany

Re: General Level Editing Thread

Post by Mr XY » 30 Mar 2018 01:19

With double sided you will see the texture from both sides.
Image

User avatar
Titak
Member
Member
Posts: 858
Joined: 04 Sep 2003 10:47
Location: Drenthe, The Netherlands

Re: General Level Editing Thread

Post by Titak » 02 Apr 2018 15:32

I did not know about this trick.
A very odd trick as well. Using a flipmap for the waterroom, but never flipping it.

I'm going to try it. :D

Thansk for the info, Mr XY. :2thumbsup:
Nothing is in contradiction with nature,
only in contradiction with what we know of it.


Image

User avatar
Tolle87
Member
Member
Posts: 952
Joined: 12 Oct 2012 11:31
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Contact:

Re: General Level Editing Thread

Post by Tolle87 » 11 Apr 2018 03:09

One question from a desperate man - Is there any way to deactivate all flames in the level with some flipeffect or something like that? Something like FE46 does for enemies?
A man who introduced me to Lara back in 1996, more than a friend, my second father....
Dusan "Dule" Petrovic (1965-2018)

User avatar
Titak
Member
Member
Posts: 858
Joined: 04 Sep 2003 10:47
Location: Drenthe, The Netherlands

Re: General Level Editing Thread

Post by Titak » 12 Apr 2018 17:28

There is if you are using TRNG.
Using a TriggerGroup or ItemGroup in the script and then placing a trigger for that TriggerGroup or ItemGroup in the map.
Nothing is in contradiction with nature,
only in contradiction with what we know of it.


Image

User avatar
Tolle87
Member
Member
Posts: 952
Joined: 12 Oct 2012 11:31
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Contact:

Re: General Level Editing Thread

Post by Tolle87 » 12 Apr 2018 17:45

Titak wrote:
12 Apr 2018 17:28
There is if you are using TRNG.
Using a TriggerGroup or ItemGroup in the script and then placing a trigger for that TriggerGroup or ItemGroup in the map.

I'm talking about BtB level (not a spoiler) :/
A man who introduced me to Lara back in 1996, more than a friend, my second father....
Dusan "Dule" Petrovic (1965-2018)

User avatar
Titak
Member
Member
Posts: 858
Joined: 04 Sep 2003 10:47
Location: Drenthe, The Netherlands

Re: General Level Editing Thread

Post by Titak » 14 Apr 2018 16:31

Then I don't know.
Best asked in the BtB section I think.
At least that way you can go into more details of what you are trying to accomplish. And if it isn't possible, people can perhaps give you ideas for a workaround. (although I guess the workaround would be to place an (anti-)trigger for each flame)
Nothing is in contradiction with nature,
only in contradiction with what we know of it.


Image

User avatar
Mulf
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 1228
Joined: 04 Oct 2001 00:41

Re: General Level Editing Thread

Post by Mulf » 14 Apr 2018 23:46

I’d try the ‘Kill all triggers’ nullmesh. Has been in all wads since forever, yet nobody ever seems to use it. :)

Place the nullmesh anywhere on the map and trigger it where you want the effect to occur (as with EARTHQUAKE and FLAME, the actual location of the nullmesh is irrelevant).

Mind that the thing might actually be true to its name and kill any process you activated prior to triggering it. I’m not actually sure what it does kill and what it doesn’t, but it helped me once deactivate an elaborate trap sequence in one go, so I guess flame emitters should be included.

User avatar
Hitsumei
Chatterbox
Chatterbox
Posts: 2932
Joined: 04 May 2004 03:26
Location: Maryland (USA)

Re: General Level Editing Thread

Post by Hitsumei » 25 May 2018 01:03

My intent is to have 4 slots for stars to open a door...What kinds of triggers (key etc.) do I need to put to require four keys to open a door?

Thank you in advance.
"With effort and persistence, a beginner can become an expert!"

User avatar
JesseG
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 1083
Joined: 10 Mar 2006 21:33
Location: Connecticut, USA

Re: General Level Editing Thread

Post by JesseG » 28 Jun 2018 23:58

Hitsumei wrote:
25 May 2018 01:03
My intent is to have 4 slots for stars to open a door...What kinds of triggers (key etc.) do I need to put to require four keys to open a door?
Check out this tutorial. You can split up to 5 triggers using the 5 "code bit" buttons.

Now for my own question: Has anyone run into the "Empty Slot" bug before? When you load a game, and then save, it saves it as Empty slot which is bad because then you can't select it again. I'm getting this when swapping meshes around. It would be great if there was some concise way to troubleshoot it (an error log somewhere?)

User avatar
Hitsumei
Chatterbox
Chatterbox
Posts: 2932
Joined: 04 May 2004 03:26
Location: Maryland (USA)

Re: General Level Editing Thread

Post by Hitsumei » 19 Jul 2018 00:25

Thank you for the link, JesseG! I was able to open the doors successfully! :)
"With effort and persistence, a beginner can become an expert!"

deandre
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: 21 Jul 2018 20:52
Location: Chicago
Contact:

Re: General Level Editing Thread

Post by deandre » 27 Jul 2018 05:24

I'm having a small issue with baddies. I'm trying to give them more life.

I have a lot of water areas around but I'm using box sectors to stop them from crossing. But I'm finding a lot of them still fall in the water or often go into walls and disappear when I use Patrol 1, another 1 & 2 or even a guard mesh. :? Any suggestions?

User avatar
Mehrbod
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 24
Joined: 24 May 2018 20:03
Location: Tehran, Iran

Re: General Level Editing Thread

Post by Mehrbod » 11 Sep 2018 20:05

deandre wrote:
27 Jul 2018 05:24
I'm having a small issue with baddies. I'm trying to give them more life.

I have a lot of water areas around but I'm using box sectors to stop them from crossing. But I'm finding a lot of them still fall in the water or often go into walls and disappear when I use Patrol 1, another 1 & 2 or even a guard mesh. :? Any suggestions?
Hello deandre !!!

I myself have the same issue. I suppose BADDY_X objects have problems with water areas. For my case, they fall into the water simply and then start lurking around, shooting bullets at Lara or start swishing their swords. Till now, I haven't found any solutions to the problem honestly... :bigcry:
Image

Egypt has many secrets and mysteries yet to be discovered ... :)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: vimmers and 11 guests