I'm having problems in adding a new wad.

builders help builders

Moderator: eTux

Post Reply
User avatar
Alexandre Simões
Member
Member
Posts: 122
Joined: 08 Jul 2011 14:20
Contact:

I'm having problems in adding a new wad.

Post by Alexandre Simões » 08 Jul 2011 19:05

I want to put a new object wad and it says I have to increase the version number, but I'm quite a bit confuse. This is what the txt file says:
"Version number MUST be increased whenever the object lists are changed"
How do I do?
This is the old version released by Core when Tomb Raider Chronicles came out.
Help me pls.
:?

sapper
Member
Member
Posts: 129
Joined: 23 Mar 2008 13:07
Contact:

Re: I'm having problems in adding a new wad.

Post by sapper » 09 Jul 2011 05:36

That instruction was for the people at Core Design that programmed Tomb Raider.

Whenever they created a new object, one that had never been seen before in a TR game they had to increase the version number.

You don't need to do this.

Just use wadmerger to transfer the object into your wad.

User avatar
Alexandre Simões
Member
Member
Posts: 122
Joined: 08 Jul 2011 14:20
Contact:

Re: I'm having problems in adding a new wad.

Post by Alexandre Simões » 09 Jul 2011 17:42

But I tried to do that with wad merger and when I played the game there weren't any object wads of mine. Instead, I found lara's "butt" and a palm tree. And when I started the level editor again, this apeared:

System request:
"Warning: Detected and repaired 2 errors in map."
Help pls

Bojrkraider
Chatterbox
Chatterbox
Posts: 2267
Joined: 24 Feb 2003 10:51

Re: I'm having problems in adding a new wad.

Post by Bojrkraider » 09 Jul 2011 21:09

Your wad is probably damaged. You should always keep a backup when you're changing something in your wad, especially now when wads have a lot of big textures in them.

Errors in the map usually have nothing to do with wad but with room's geometry.
If there's something wrong with wad, it usually says: Remap all triggers to Lara. (you must say No then)
Image

User avatar
Alexandre Simões
Member
Member
Posts: 122
Joined: 08 Jul 2011 14:20
Contact:

Re: I'm having problems in adding a new wad.

Post by Alexandre Simões » 09 Jul 2011 23:56

But I'm using the original TRLE version released by Core (just learning) - is that what you're referring to?

Bojrkraider
Chatterbox
Chatterbox
Posts: 2267
Joined: 24 Feb 2003 10:51

Re: I'm having problems in adding a new wad.

Post by Bojrkraider » 10 Jul 2011 00:45

Yes.
You must did something wrong while building a level. That's why you should have backups, we all did such mistakes at the start.

So, what exactly is now wrong?
If you click the object in editor, that is Lara's butt in the level, how is it named? You're missing this object in your wad. To add new objects to wad you should use Wadmerger.
Image

sapper
Member
Member
Posts: 129
Joined: 23 Mar 2008 13:07
Contact:

Re: I'm having problems in adding a new wad.

Post by sapper » 10 Jul 2011 04:20

Just checking that you did this.

When you output you map to .tom it must have the same name as your wad of objects and must be saved in the same folder as the object wad.

Also whenever you change something in the object wad you must convert the tom with tom2pc again to see objects in game.

User avatar
Alexandre Simões
Member
Member
Posts: 122
Joined: 08 Jul 2011 14:20
Contact:

Re: I'm having problems in adding a new wad.

Post by Alexandre Simões » 10 Jul 2011 13:35

I use wadmerger.It appears that if I use the wad I created, the corresponding to that in the tut1.WAS will appear. And if it doesn't exist, lara's "butt" will appear. For example, if i use the object in the debris slot, the corresponding to that in the tut1.WAS will appear.

User avatar
bedazzled
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 1763
Joined: 10 Jun 2003 23:21

Re: I'm having problems in adding a new wad.

Post by bedazzled » 10 Jul 2011 15:46

Is my wadmerger tutorial any help?
http://www.skribblerz.com/wadmergertut.htm
A well turned bottom is a beautiful thing to behold.
A well spanked bottom is a beautiful thing to be holding.


User avatar
Alexandre Simões
Member
Member
Posts: 122
Joined: 08 Jul 2011 14:20
Contact:

Re: I'm having problems in adding a new wad.

Post by Alexandre Simões » 12 Jul 2011 15:56

Thanks. I manged to put the object wads in my level, but now I have a different problem. My animations seem to be incorrect. An MP guard half guard half lara, when she gets in thew motorbyke she looks like she is flying instead of sitting, etc. Can you help? Oh, and if anyone could tell me how can I get her to start with no guns, that would be great.

User avatar
bedazzled
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 1763
Joined: 10 Jun 2003 23:21

Re: I'm having problems in adding a new wad.

Post by bedazzled » 12 Jul 2011 16:42

Are you using the Lara object from one of the revised wads? The original six wads supplied with the level editor all have missing animations.
http://www.skribblerz.net/RevisedWADs.zip
A well turned bottom is a beautiful thing to behold.
A well spanked bottom is a beautiful thing to be holding.

User avatar
Alexandre Simões
Member
Member
Posts: 122
Joined: 08 Jul 2011 14:20
Contact:

Re: I'm having problems in adding a new wad.

Post by Alexandre Simões » 12 Jul 2011 18:28

Ok, thx. And there is another thing. I´m building the level already. I´m trying to use the tom2pc but when I try to convert the level wad, it crashes. This is what´s in the output dialogue:

***Build All Begin***
Converting C:\Programs\Core Design\trle\graphics\wads\tut1.TOM
Room Tex Infos : 9

And then, this warning appears:

tom2pc.exe found a problem and it's going to close. We're sorry for any inconvinience this may cause you. If you were in the middle of something yapyapyap. It's kinda like this, but my pc is in portuguese, so it is hard to translate.
I really don't know what to do.

User avatar
bedazzled
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 1763
Joined: 10 Jun 2003 23:21

Re: I'm having problems in adding a new wad.

Post by bedazzled » 12 Jul 2011 23:14

Try renaming the Core Design folder to remove the space in it's name
A well turned bottom is a beautiful thing to behold.
A well spanked bottom is a beautiful thing to be holding.

aktrekker
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 66
Joined: 28 Sep 2010 08:30

Re: I'm having problems in adding a new wad.

Post by aktrekker » 13 Jul 2011 08:40

Better yet, uninstall the LE. Then reinstall it in your Documents folder. This fixes most problems.

As for the problem with the motorbike, you need the VEHICLE_EXTRA slot as this contains the animations. The half guard/half Lara might be a problem with MESHSWAP objects.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests