Winroom edit.

builders help builders

Moderator: eTux

Post Reply
User avatar
Aza
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 1065
Joined: 12 Sep 2003 21:04

Winroom edit.

Post by Aza » 27 Jan 2005 09:17

Why does winroom edit need to access the internet?<br>When I start up the room editor, AVG asks if I want to allow it to get on the internet.<br>Up to now I have not let it on; should I?<p><br>Cheers...Aza
What a wan*er.

User avatar
oxy
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 5357
Joined: 20 Oct 2003 19:20
Location: Slovenia

Winroom edit.

Post by oxy » 27 Jan 2005 09:35

I don't let Room Edit to go on internet. Also Tomb Raider game want's to go on internet, Microsoft Word and other programs. I don't allow, very simple. :smiley:
"You learn something every day."

User avatar
GeorgeMaciver
Chatterbox
Chatterbox
Posts: 3600
Joined: 21 Apr 2003 17:25

Winroom edit.

Post by GeorgeMaciver » 27 Jan 2005 12:44

Block them in your firewall.<p>:smile:

User avatar
piega
Member
Member
Posts: 686
Joined: 30 Nov 2001 18:27
Contact:

Winroom edit.

Post by piega » 28 Jan 2005 14:41

I had a similar problem some time ago before I reinstalled everything. There was a program, spyware or virus (I dont know anymore). Every program asked to connect to the internet. I bet there is a program that adjusted the register to connect every time you start someting up. It's very annoying. Cannot help you though...
Image

User avatar
Aza
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 1065
Joined: 12 Sep 2003 21:04

Winroom edit.

Post by Aza » 29 Jan 2005 09:01

Thanks guys.<br>I didn't think there was any legitimate reason for it to need internet access so I haven't let it on.<br>It probably is some spyware that has altered the registry so I will pop along to spywareinfo.com and get it sorted.<p>Thanks again...Aza
What a wan*er.

User avatar
GeorgeMaciver
Chatterbox
Chatterbox
Posts: 3600
Joined: 21 Apr 2003 17:25

Winroom edit.

Post by GeorgeMaciver » 29 Jan 2005 11:51

Don't think it's spyware mate, it seems to be built into the editor. tr4 exe tries it as well if you play while on line.

User avatar
Aza
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 1065
Joined: 12 Sep 2003 21:04

Winroom edit.

Post by Aza » 29 Jan 2005 18:24

It is a bit weird isn't it?<p>Why would it need access? <br>It's not as if it needs to update it's self.<p>As Toyah Wilcox once sang.... :singer: "It's a mystery, it's a mystery."<p>Aza
What a wan*er.

User avatar
Anurag
Member
Member
Posts: 700
Joined: 07 Mar 2004 11:19
Location: India
Contact:

Winroom edit.

Post by Anurag » 01 Feb 2005 14:57

Try to search for spyware with Spybot Search & destroy
Learning the tricks of the trade ... Shall unleash once I am ready :)
Currently working on : VCI HQ - Unfinished Business -> 5% Done (Currently Shelved :D)
My Walkthroughs For Custom Levels

dhama
Member
Member
Posts: 645
Joined: 24 Aug 2001 21:55
Location: Tibetan Dream
Contact:

Winroom edit.

Post by dhama » 06 Feb 2005 18:49

Hmm that's funny, I let it access the internet on several occasions and I now have version 2.41....<p>Seriously though there's a rumour going around that Eidos wish to know how popular the TR level Editor is, so they can decide whether it's worth releasing a TR7 level editor, but that was started by me just now.
Image

User avatar
Idealist
Chatterbox
Chatterbox
Posts: 2044
Joined: 18 Aug 2003 13:57
Location: Overland Park, Kansas

Winroom edit.

Post by Idealist » 06 Feb 2005 22:04

Nice try, Terry. :wink:
Only one life,
’Twill soon be passed,
Only what’s done for Christ will last.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests