SOUND PROBLEM

builders help builders

Moderator: eTux

Post Reply
User avatar
franky
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 58
Joined: 10 Jan 2012 11:32

SOUND PROBLEM

Post by franky » 10 Jan 2020 10:44

Hello to all

QUESTION: Is there anyone who can help me with Isounds of items?

PROBLEM: There are no sounds at the door opened with the Crowbar and the sound of when Lara pushes a Pushable_Objectx.


Hello and thanks
Franky

User avatar
Trikazz
Member
Member
Posts: 563
Joined: 11 Oct 2017 15:48
Location: Russia
Contact:

Re: SOUND PROBLEM

Post by Trikazz » 10 Jan 2020 13:35

[quote]EDIT:DJ helps[/quote]
Last edited by Trikazz on 10 Jan 2020 21:35, edited 1 time in total.
Image

User avatar
DJ Full
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 6939
Joined: 02 Nov 2010 04:02

Re: SOUND PROBLEM

Post by DJ Full » 10 Jan 2020 15:21

Pedro can you pleeeeease not help if you don't know how to help....

@Franky, modifying your wad in Wadmerger will almost always break sounds.
You need to open sounds.txt and tag all sounds you wanna use with #g or a custom tag.
You open sfx_example.bat in notepad. Let's say your tag is #Fr and your wad is called franky.wad.
So you type "pcwadsfx franky Fr" and save the file. Then you run it.
This compiles new .sam. sfx files which include the sounds you have tagged.
Then you replace those two new files in the wad folder.
woof

User avatar
franky
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 58
Joined: 10 Jan 2012 11:32

Re: SOUND PROBLEM

Post by franky » 10 Jan 2020 17:40

DJ Full wrote:
10 Jan 2020 15:21
Pedro can you pleeeeease not help if you don't know how to help....

@Franky, modifying your wad in Wadmerger will almost always break sounds.
You need to open sounds.txt and tag all sounds you wanna use with #g or a custom tag.
You open sfx_example.bat in notepad. Let's say your tag is #Fr and your wad is called franky.wad.
So you type "pcwadsfx franky Fr" and save the file. Then you run it.
This compiles new .sam. sfx files which include the sounds you have tagged.
Then you replace those two new files in the wad folder.
Hi Djfull

Thanks for replying, I read carefully what you wrote, however, as I am a beginner in SOUNDS and I know very little about it, it seems a little complex, but with your help I would like to try to learn from you without committing any disaster .
 
QUESTION: could you explain to me as simply as possible, how to operate, perhaps with screenshots or videos?

Forgive my ignorance, but it is a gap that I would like to fill.

Hi Franky

User avatar
Alex Chap
Member
Member
Posts: 616
Joined: 22 Apr 2014 09:55
Location: France, Oise

Re: SOUND PROBLEM

Post by Alex Chap » 10 Jan 2020 18:36

It's very simple :)

As DJ said, you have to open your Sounds.txt file that is in your sound folder, and if you want to be able to hear a sound, you have to put "g#" at the end of the line of a sound like in this exemple :

Code: Select all

LARA_CROWBAR_GEM:	crowgem				VOL35	P V		PIT35	RAD05	#g
CROWBAR_DOOR_OPEN:	cbar_clk			VOL80	P V		PIT-15	RAD05	#g
The # determines in which .TR4 you'll able to hear the sound, knowing that :
- #g is for general
- #t is for the title screen


You'll also see other letters, but they are for the classic TR4. (Tut1 or Catacombs for exemple)
Once you've finished, save your file and click on SFX_Exemple.bat, it will create the new .SFX and .SAM in the graphics folder.

Finally, as DJ said again, If you want to create your own letters to save some sound memory for .TR4 files (Because you can't put "#g" everywhere or it can cause crashes), you have to right click on the SFX_Exemple.bat and write something like :

Code: Select all

pcwadsfx FrankyCastle cas
pcwadsfx FrankyShip sh
/!\ Only change the values and don't add new lines in the Sounds.txt or it could crash your game /!\

Hope it helps !
Image

User avatar
franky
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 58
Joined: 10 Jan 2012 11:32

Re: SOUND PROBLEM

Post by franky » 10 Jan 2020 19:54

Alex Chap wrote:
10 Jan 2020 18:36
It's very simple :)

As DJ said, you have to open your Sounds.txt file that is in your sound folder, and if you want to be able to hear a sound, you have to put "g#" at the end of the line of a sound like in this exemple :

Code: Select all

LARA_CROWBAR_GEM:	crowgem				VOL35	P V		PIT35	RAD05	#g
CROWBAR_DOOR_OPEN:	cbar_clk			VOL80	P V		PIT-15	RAD05	#g
The # determines in which .TR4 you'll able to hear the sound, knowing that :
- #g is for general
- #t is for the title screen


You'll also see other letters, but they are for the classic TR4. (Tut1 or Catacombs for exemple)
Once you've finished, save your file and click on SFX_Exemple.bat, it will create the new .SFX and .SAM in the graphics folder.

Finally, as DJ said again, If you want to create your own letters to save some sound memory for .TR4 files (Because you can't put "#g" everywhere or it can cause crashes), you have to right click on the SFX_Exemple.bat and write something like :

Code: Select all

pcwadsfx FrankyCastle cas
pcwadsfx FrankyShip sh
/!\ Only change the values and don't add new lines in the Sounds.txt or it could crash your game /!\

Hope it helps !
Hi Alex
I sent you a PM read it please.
Hi Franky

User avatar
StudBuddha
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 38
Joined: 21 Jul 2018 20:52
Location: Chicago
Contact:

Re: SOUND PROBLEM

Post by StudBuddha » 12 Jan 2020 05:25

I'm having pretty much the same problem with my level. It's the only thing. I could list the wrongs sounds but I did what DJ Full said. Everything worked fine but my sounds are still messy. When I opened the sound.txt everything was already correct and the .wav sounds are all correct.

Like when Lara lights a flare. It sounds like a guy is dying. In the sound.txt it's correct and the .wav. In Tomb Editor I set it up as path to TR3 samples and info from sound.txt.

sound.txt doesn't seem to work as if I didn't change anything
.sfx seems as though it did change things but what I changed now doesn't make any sound. This is how I feel with this level right now >>>>> :bigcry:
Then you might like to mind...the bell.

User avatar
Alex Chap
Member
Member
Posts: 616
Joined: 22 Apr 2014 09:55
Location: France, Oise

Re: SOUND PROBLEM

Post by Alex Chap » 12 Jan 2020 12:07

It could be because you used Wadmerger to manage your sounds. The best way to test would be to use the original .SFX and .SAM from Tut1 for exemple, and also the original Sounds.TXT, then build your new TR4.
Image

User avatar
StudBuddha
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 38
Joined: 21 Jul 2018 20:52
Location: Chicago
Contact:

Re: SOUND PROBLEM

Post by StudBuddha » 20 Jan 2020 01:04

That did not work for me. I'm still on this. Like the radar that's in TR3. It's called animation_4 in the wad while in the sound.txt it's called RADAR_BLIP. How am I supposed to know what's assigned to what? This is like the only thing I can figure out how to change the sounds.

I don't know what to do anymore.
Then you might like to mind...the bell.

User avatar
Alex Chap
Member
Member
Posts: 616
Joined: 22 Apr 2014 09:55
Location: France, Oise

Re: SOUND PROBLEM

Post by Alex Chap » 20 Jan 2020 16:57

Have you tried to assign the sound on some frames of your animation ?
You can assign what ever you want, the sounds.txt just have a list of sounds and some objects made by Core Design were already programmed or hardcoded with sounds.
Image

User avatar
StudBuddha
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 38
Joined: 21 Jul 2018 20:52
Location: Chicago
Contact:

Re: SOUND PROBLEM

Post by StudBuddha » 31 Jan 2020 17:05

Thank you for recommending this because that is working. =) I think I screwed my sounds up with wadmerger.
Then you might like to mind...the bell.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests