General Level Editing Thread

builders help builders

Moderator: eTux

Post Reply
User avatar
DJ Full
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 6653
Joined: 02 Nov 2010 03:02

Re: General Level Editing Thread

Post by DJ Full » 21 Apr 2017 20:36

OverRaider wrote:
21 Apr 2017 20:02
You can type IGNORE so what`s that -1
"-1" is a code for "IGNORE", I'm typing that because it's shorter.
Every flag has a code, for example instead of EXTRA_TEETH_NO_DAMAGE_ON_WALKING you can type "1".
MAKE WIDESHOT GREAT AGAIN

User avatar
JesseG
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 1069
Joined: 10 Mar 2006 20:33
Location: Connecticut, USA

Re: General Level Editing Thread

Post by JesseG » 22 Apr 2017 01:27

In programming terms, the things like IGNORE and EXTRA_TEETH_NO_DAMAGE_ON_WALKING are called "constants". They are variables with a constant value (ex. IGNORE's value is -1). The numbers are the actual values that are used, but the wordy variable names are there to be helpful if you want to make it more readable. This is why the reference tab has that section called "mnemonic constants", and it's also why you see the "copy name" and "copy value" buttons. When you use "copy value" your clipboard gets the value of the constant (the number), while using "copy name" gives the name of the constant instead.

Just a random FYI, carry on... :)
Image

User avatar
DJ Full
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 6653
Joined: 02 Nov 2010 03:02

Re: General Level Editing Thread

Post by DJ Full » 22 Apr 2017 07:10

Still, some of those flags are definitely too uncomfy to remember. It could be:
CUST_SECRET_NUMBER not CUST_SET_SECRET_NUMBER, because "set" is "customize".
Or EXTRA_SOFT_SPIKES not EXTRA_TEETH_NO_DAMAGE_ON_WALKING.
Or CUST_FLYBY_TEXT not CUST_TEXT_ON_FLY_SCREEN.
The truth is I remember stuff like:
- $5000, ID ,$2B is "trigger"
- $9000, ID ,$XX36 is "distance to item"
- $2000, 127, $ID is "launch organizer"
- $8000, X, $10 is "multiple env contidion"
but I cannot remember "familiar flags" no matter how hard I try :)



I cannot do the simpliest setup without running into weird crap.

The camera tutorial says:
- deactivate a Camera with F120 or another static camera
- F406 trigger makes the camera infinite
- another F406 (not scripted everyway) aborts it
- use +TRGOUP_SINGLE_SHOT because multiple is buggy.

This means such a target+camera sequence is possible:

Code: Select all

TriggerGroup=1, $5000, AAA, $2A,> ;target 1
		$5000, AAA, $29	  ;camera 1
TriggerGroup=2, $2000, 406, $0,>  ;stop camera
		$5000, BBB, $2A,> ;target 2
		$5000, BBB, $29	  ;camera 2
TriggerGroup=3, $2000, 406, $0,>  ;stop camera
		$5000, CCC, $2A,> ;target 3
		$5000, CCC, $29	  ;camera 3
TriggerGroup=4, $2000, 406, $0,>  ;stop camera
		$5000, DDD, $2A,> ;target 4
		$5000, DDD, $29	  ;camera 4
TriggerGroup=5, $2000, 406, $0    ;stop camera
It's a talk of two characters, with changing cam+target couples.
The above setup is reduced, in the game I used some couples twice.

Some cameras trigger properly, some too late, other don't at all.
Same for targets: some trigger, some fail to switch to new ones.
It happens both if I use a new cam+target couple or reuse former.

I tried using those triggers in various combinations and orders.
I also tried $2000, 406, 1 - the new "infinite attribute".
In any case I kept all triggergroups in identical structure.

What am I missing now?
MAKE WIDESHOT GREAT AGAIN

User avatar
OverRaider
Member
Member
Posts: 729
Joined: 05 Dec 2012 20:35

Re: General Level Editing Thread

Post by OverRaider » 22 Apr 2017 16:09

I never use the flipeffect for triggering cameras, they are rather annoying because if you don`t set it up as it exactly requires it`s get messed up, I always use the classic trigger for cameras and you can still use the special flipeffect effects for cameras like set camera as cinematic view etc.

In your case I would use organizer and rolling balls and flipeffect to disable keyboard for triggering this whole event

5 rolling balls of which each triggers 1 camera and 1 target for X seconds
All rolling balls to be exported via action trigger for moveable into triggergorup
1 organizer to organize time event when the rolling ball activates the particular camera and target
Flippefect to disable keyboard for X seconds so that players are not able to press look button or cancel the event
It`s neccesary for this set up that you put exactly the same amount of seconds into trigger for cameras (on the map) as you enter the seconds in organizer so that for example:

camera1 4 seconds on the map while triggergroup1 0 seconds in organizer
camera2 5 seconds on the map while triggergroup2 4 seconds in organizer
camera3 7 seconds on the map while triggergroup3 5 seconds in organizer
camera4 2 seconds on the map while triggergroup4 7 seconds in organizer
etc.
and count all seconds to put it into flipeffect to disable keyboard during this event,
(I know it`s not the best solution as puting 5 rolling balls and 10+ triggers on the map takes some precious data but if nothing else works...)
Where is no challenge there is a boredom

Image

User avatar
DJ Full
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 6653
Joined: 02 Nov 2010 03:02

Re: General Level Editing Thread

Post by DJ Full » 28 Apr 2017 19:43

I analyzed the issue further and it seems there must be a 2-frame interval between the cameras.
Otherwise the previous camera won't jump to the next one but will stay active, with next timer.
This 2-frame interval allows the chase camera to active for a split second, during the cut.
Both problems can be solved by alternate placed camera / PARAM_SET_CAMERA usage.
Details I described here, and here's the whole page for context.

Does it matter which room I put light effects in, flipped or unflipped? Or is it irrelevant?
MAKE WIDESHOT GREAT AGAIN

User avatar
DJ Full
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 6653
Joined: 02 Nov 2010 03:02

Re: General Level Editing Thread

Post by DJ Full » 12 May 2017 11:24

Do we have any list of moveables the AddEffect= command works with?
It appears to be without rules in my case, some objects work other don't.
I see the script limit for these is 99, is it lower if I'm near placed light limit?
(I went for AddEffect since I'm out of bulbs so I thought add_light_flat will do.)
MAKE WIDESHOT GREAT AGAIN

User avatar
psiko
Member
Member
Posts: 612
Joined: 02 Dec 2001 01:56

Re: General Level Editing Thread

Post by psiko » 14 May 2017 00:19

DJ Full wrote:
12 May 2017 11:24
Do we have any list of moveables the AddEffect= command works with?
It appears to be without rules in my case, some objects work other don't.
I see the script limit for these is 99, is it lower if I'm near placed light limit?
(I went for AddEffect since I'm out of bulbs so I thought add_light_flat will do.)
Have you tried the FADD_IGNORE_STATUS for those moveables?..

User avatar
DJ Full
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 6653
Joined: 02 Nov 2010 03:02

Re: General Level Editing Thread

Post by DJ Full » 14 May 2017 00:47

What a priceless flag, I had no idea it exists. Thank you :)
But apparently my issue wasn't only this. I had ENV_ROOM_IS.
Which was activating the light when Lara was leaving the room :anxious:
MAKE WIDESHOT GREAT AGAIN

User avatar
DJ Full
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 6653
Joined: 02 Nov 2010 03:02

Re: General Level Editing Thread

Post by DJ Full » 14 May 2017 09:32

Analyzed further. It seems for pickups, IGNORE_STATUS is just ignored.
So, if you add an effect e.g. to FLARE_INV_ITEM, you do this:

GlobalTrigger=95, FGT_SINGLE_SHOT, GT_ALWAYS, -1, -1, 187, -1
Triggergroup=187, $5000, 437, $2B, $5000, 437, $930 ; trigger flare_inv -> light flare_inv
AddEffect=9,ADD_LIGHT_FLAT,FADD_CONTINUE_EMIT,JOINT_SINGLE_MESH,0,0,0,-1,-1,8,16,MIST_COL_WHITE



and when you do it for ANIMATING16_MIP you can skip the object activation:

GlobalTrigger=95, FGT_SINGLE_SHOT, GT_ALWAYS, -1, -1, 187, -1
Triggergroup=187, $5000, 437, $930 ; light flare_inv
AddEffect=9,ADD_LIGHT_FLAT,FADD_IGNORE_STATUS+FADD_CONTINUE_EMIT,JOINT_SINGLE_MESH,0,0,0,-1,-1,8,16,MIST_COL_WHITE



I'm using objects to emit lights because I'm very close to max 768 lightbulbs.
However I don't know how AddEffect= will coexist with so many normal lights.
About to find out if it allows to bypass their limit or if the map gets broken :)

EDIT: Got 768 lightbulbs plus 4 permanent ADD_LIGHT effects. Nothing broke so far :)
MAKE WIDESHOT GREAT AGAIN

User avatar
DJ Full
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 6653
Joined: 02 Nov 2010 03:02

Re: General Level Editing Thread

Post by DJ Full » 02 Jul 2017 20:21

Guuuys? Is there any way to prevent spikes from exploding the jeep?
Any OCBs or scripts I missed? Or is it bound to happen no matter of what?
MAKE WIDESHOT GREAT AGAIN

User avatar
Hitsumei
Chatterbox
Chatterbox
Posts: 2820
Joined: 04 May 2004 02:26
Location: Georgia (USA)

Re: General Level Editing Thread

Post by Hitsumei » 07 Jul 2017 20:55

Thank you eRIC for your response regarding the vases and the heavy triggers, it worked! :bulb2:

Right now, I'm trying to figure out how to create a shimmying crack on the wall, which a slightly sloped direction towards a crawlspace. In what way do I create the crack with respect to a room, and where to I draw the doors? Some of the stuff I tried to do (like either put the shimmying section above the room on the last row, or on the side with the diagonals, only one of the squares connected since the rest was diagonal and above) was pretty messy. :dizzy2:

Or at the very least, which of the TR4 levels has a shimmying passage I can look up as a reference?

Thank you in advance.
"With effort and persistence, a beginner can become an expert!"

User avatar
JesseG
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 1069
Joined: 10 Mar 2006 20:33
Location: Connecticut, USA

Re: General Level Editing Thread

Post by JesseG » 08 Jul 2017 01:40

You cannot use an actual wall for that. Instead, you need to have a section inside the room where the "wall" will go, and then bring the floor and ceiling together until they touch. How you make them meet is up to you, you can have them a bit sloped (so Lara can rise during the shimmy), you can have a visible crack or a hidden crack, and so on.
Image

User avatar
DJ Full
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 6653
Joined: 02 Nov 2010 03:02

Re: General Level Editing Thread

Post by DJ Full » 11 Jul 2017 06:49

I have something really weird here. An animation doesn't play to the end.
Instead it loops to the start at about frame 150 (or 300 if framerate is 2).
It's the only animation in the level, no other caused this issue.

Things I already excluded:
- it's not about NextFrame triggers, none points far enough to affect my anim
- it's not about the slot: I tried animatings 1, 2, 3, 4, their _MIPs and _MIP10
- it's not about animation length: _MIP10 surely allows over 1500 frames
- it's not about framerate 2: it worked for another object in this slot
- it's not about wad limits: the wad is empty except Lara's misc
- it's not about the mesh tree, pops and pushes are in place
- it's not about animcommands, the animation has none
- it's not about stateIDs or changes, plain 0 should do
- it's not about the map, I'm testing in a clean room
- it's not about the script, I also made a clean one.

Any more ideas? I already lost two days for this crap...
I'm about to hang myself but my level has no rope...
MAKE WIDESHOT GREAT AGAIN

sapper
Member
Member
Posts: 127
Joined: 23 Mar 2008 12:07
Contact:

Re: General Level Editing Thread

Post by sapper » 12 Jul 2017 02:33

Open wad in NGCenter>Tools3 tab>Animation fixer.

Does end frame match actual end frame?

User avatar
DJ Full
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 6653
Joined: 02 Nov 2010 03:02

Re: General Level Editing Thread

Post by DJ Full » 12 Jul 2017 04:26

Sapper... you have a very special place in my heart you know :heart:
I was really like :computer: this time and had no idea how to proceed.
The game of course works now :muffin: but now I don't know why it does :D
And some stuff in those numbers is really confusing, like for instance:

- the values in another animation are start frame 47, end frame 136
but the game in fact plays that one from 0 to 92 like it's supposed to

- I entered "correct" values of 0-92 and now wadmerger displays 0-47,
as a result this animation, fine before, now loops back after frame 47

- but my fixed animation shows 0-263 in WM but plays 0-414 in game...

It plainly looks like if Wadmerger needed correct values for some anims.
But it also looks like it needs wrong values for other animations to work.
How does this program work exactly? I didn't find any help file for it.
MAKE WIDESHOT GREAT AGAIN

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests