Talos - The Citadel

questions/comments/screenshots

Moderator: Gerty

Post Reply
User avatar
Torry
Chatterbox
Chatterbox
Posts: 3085
Joined: 24 Aug 2001 23:38
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Talos - The Citadel

Post by Torry » 24 Feb 2018 01:46

Can someone tell me why the tomb4.exe in this level package is constantly trying to connect to the internet and for what good reason?

User avatar
Torry
Chatterbox
Chatterbox
Posts: 3085
Joined: 24 Aug 2001 23:38
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: Talos - The Citadel

Post by Torry » 25 Feb 2018 04:22

No one knows eh? Hmmm, Methinks this level will be deleted and remain unplayed.

User avatar
vimmers
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 11153
Joined: 15 Mar 2002 15:10
Location: denmark

Re: Talos - The Citadel

Post by vimmers » 25 Feb 2018 06:04

not sure my friend but as u know all files here are
controlled my Michael
and i don't think he would upload a file if it was dangerous
so it's a false positive

User avatar
Jorge22
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 9346
Joined: 21 May 2003 03:26
Location: Portugal (Porto area)

Re: Talos - The Citadel

Post by Jorge22 » 25 Feb 2018 09:17

I remember having played that level without any issues (maybe I had to add the exe to exceptions on Avast, not sure anymore). Also agree with vimmers. And I don't see Talos hacking in any way.
"I waved to my neighbour/My neighbour waved to me/But my neighbour/Is my enemy/I kept waving my arms/Till I could not see/Under fifteen feet of pure white snow"

Phil
Mod
Mod
Posts: 5114
Joined: 12 Apr 2002 22:57
Location: Charlotte, NC, USA

Re: Talos - The Citadel

Post by Phil » 25 Feb 2018 12:49

AVG used to reject routinely reject all patched Tomb4.exe files such as the ones preferred by Talos, causing me much frustration trying to find a work-around. They've changed their procedure, however, by running a 15-second scan to determine whether anything malicious is present, then you get an "all clear" message and the game starts. Maybe you just need to switch your anti-virus provider.

User avatar
Dutchy
Master Chatter
Master Chatter
Posts: 8457
Joined: 25 Feb 2002 13:09
Location: Istanbul (but I'm Dutch)
Contact:

Re: Talos - The Citadel

Post by Dutchy » 26 Feb 2018 07:02

Torry wrote:
24 Feb 2018 01:46
Can someone tell me why the tomb4.exe in this level package is constantly trying to connect to the internet and for what good reason?
It's not the exe connecting to the internet, it is your virus scanner sending information about this "malicious" exe (NOT!!) to the data base of the virus scanner program

User avatar
Talos
Member
Member
Posts: 433
Joined: 22 Aug 2013 08:03
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Talos - The Citadel

Post by Talos » 21 Jun 2018 21:47

Jorge22 wrote:
25 Feb 2018 09:17
I remember having played that level without any issues (maybe I had to add the exe to exceptions on Avast, not sure anymore). Also agree with vimmers. And I don't see Talos hacking in any way.
I see this message now (sorry). :cry:

Unfortunately all my tomb4. exe are modified in 2013, but the antivirus haters hate them. Even when I edit AVG it creates problems :annoyed: I do not know what to do, it is a lost war... creates difficulties even me that I create the levels.

I want to ensure that no tomb4. exe of my levels is malevolent, it's just a modified tomb4. exe by Delta (a patch with the Trep). I do not understand why after so many years every antivirus creates problems. I have not modified anything from the Legend of Triton's tomb4. exe, except the icon image, from NG Center... :beadyeyes2: The script is the same, the exe is the same, the PC is the same! Why should you create these problems (even me, now)? :?

The only different exe's are those of Antas Dungeons (classic tomb4.exe), Tragodia (BtB Greece) and Another Xmas Spell

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Talos and 3 guests